Spicy Oven Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2015
I made this twice. Used buttermilk, skillet smoking hot, and breading crumbled off chicken both times. Flavor was good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2015
Used finely ground corn flakes rather than bread crumbs and I left out the sugar and added a bit more cayenne to turn up the heat a bit. Used Frank's Red Hot Original but a hotter sauce would kick heat up a notch. Large breasts which I cut in half to speed marinate (2 hr) and to give a better crumb coating to meat ratio and more flavor. Definitely bake on rack for a crispy finish. Served with homemade buffalo wing sauce and homemade bleu cheese dressing for dipping.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWL

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Mount Solon, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2015
\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kristi Moffit Burr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
really good. although, think the game changer was using 1/2 c panko breadcrumbs in addition to a 1/2 c. regular breadcrumbs for crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I should've dredged it in egg before bread crumbs. It's a soggy mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was sooo good. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Really wonderful recipe! I used buttermilk and some ranch dressing since I saw that one reviewer used ranch instead of the buttermilk. I also let the skillet get good and hot before putting the chicken in it after reading some people had problems with the coating coming off. It was a little tricky keeping the coating on, I must say. But overall, definitely worth the challenge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Delicious!!! Used ranch dressing instead of buttermilk and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Loved this recipe! I made it for a cookout at my house and it was a big hit - I had to pass along the recipe the next day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Fugate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
The coating mixture was delicious, and the chicken was tender and tasty! I had two minor issues with the recipe, though. One is that it didn't make sense to me to dirty both a frying pan and a baking dish. So I put the chicken breasts directly into a baking dish and sprayed them with oil, and was happy with how they browned. The other issue is simply that neither Mr. Pickypants nor I are "heat people." So I cut the hot sauce in half, and did not marinate the chicken in it. I don't know if it was the remaining hot sauce, the cayenne, or both, but these were still on the hot side for us. I will definitely make this recipe again, but will work on reducing the heat while retaining those flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 159) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States