Spicy Oven Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This recipe was a winner at out house! I refrigerated the chicken after breading as another reviewer suggested. If you still are having trouble making your breading stick, you may not be getting your frying pan hot enough before you put your chicken breasts in. I turned my chicken breasts over halfway through the baking time, so both sides would be crispy. The chicken came out very juicy and tender, and the crust was delicious. I'm going to kick up the hot sauce and cayenne next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
We love spicey food, (including the kids) so this recipe was right on target for us. I didn't have any buttermilk in the house, so I used ranch dressing. The flavor was great, so the next time I make this I'll use the dressing again. To help keep the coating on the chicken, you need to let it set. After breading, place the chicken in the fridge for about 30 minutes. I took the advice of another reviewer and placed the chicken on racks to help keep the bottom crispy. We really loved this! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
123 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2002
This is a very good recipe. I used thighs instead of breasts and it turned out great. I love a good, crispy coating and this was just the ticket. Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHARRYN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
One way to avoid a soggy crust is to bake the chicken on a rack. Take the rack out of a roasting pan or use a self standing a cooling rack. Set it on top of or inside (depending on whether or not is is a standing rack) the pan you're cooking the chicken on. Lay the chicken on the rack. Air will circulate under the chicken and the bottom will not be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
181 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2002
My husband and I loved loved loved this one! We love it hot...it didn't affect us too much, because we burned off our taste buds long ago..hehe. But we really loved it. My grandfather, however, was sweating by the time he was done! AWESOME for adults...but I don't think many kids will enjoy the hotness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHICKLETTE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Marysville, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2002
We loved this spicy hot chicken recipe. I doubled it for the 5 of us using 8 breasts & there were no leftovers. The recipe didn't say whether to cover the chicken or not during baking so I did it both ways and it was much better covered with foil. It tasted more like sauteed chicken. Uncovered was crispier & more like fried chicken. I will definitely be making this on a regular basis...thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2002
I didn't bother browning the chicken in the olive oil. Instead, I just placed the chicken on my preheated pizza stone and it turned out great. I've found using the pizza stone for alot of chicken recipes keeps the chicken moist and outside quite crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2002
This was great. My husband loves spicy foods, but it wasn't too spicy for my kids, they loved it too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2002
Husband LOVED this, and he is hard to please sometimes. Will definitley make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2002
This makes a great fried chicken for those that appreciate a little spice! Our chicken came out tender and made excellent leftover chicken sandwiches with lettuce, tomato and mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States