Spicy Oven Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2002
One way to avoid a soggy crust is to bake the chicken on a rack. Take the rack out of a roasting pan or use a self standing a cooling rack. Set it on top of or inside (depending on whether or not is is a standing rack) the pan you're cooking the chicken on. Lay the chicken on the rack. Air will circulate under the chicken and the bottom will not be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
190 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2002
We love spicey food, (including the kids) so this recipe was right on target for us. I didn't have any buttermilk in the house, so I used ranch dressing. The flavor was great, so the next time I make this I'll use the dressing again. To help keep the coating on the chicken, you need to let it set. After breading, place the chicken in the fridge for about 30 minutes. I took the advice of another reviewer and placed the chicken on racks to help keep the bottom crispy. We really loved this! Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
131 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2005
I make this all the time so glad I found it and tried it. IT'S A KEEPER!!! My family and I love it. I dip the chicken in egg before dredging in dry mixture, coating sticks to chicken better also makes thicker and crisper crust. Also tried bone in cut up chicken pieces done the same way just bake longer until juices run clear. Thank you Anna
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2002
This recipe was a winner at out house! I refrigerated the chicken after breading as another reviewer suggested. If you still are having trouble making your breading stick, you may not be getting your frying pan hot enough before you put your chicken breasts in. I turned my chicken breasts over halfway through the baking time, so both sides would be crispy. The chicken came out very juicy and tender, and the crust was delicious. I'm going to kick up the hot sauce and cayenne next time I make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chillicothe, Ohio, USA
Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2006
Wow, talk about a GREAT recipe!!! I didn't marinate the chicken in the buttermilk mixture. (I didn't have time) So, I just put some of the hot sauce (Chicken wing hot sauce is what I used) in a little bowl, and rolled the chciken in it till it was coated in the sauce before I coated it with the flour/bread crumb mixture. Also, I used vegetable oil instead of Olive Oil to pan fry it, because Olive Oil has that strong flavour, and I didn't want the chicken to tast like that. Anyway, SOOO yummy and crispy! Not at all greasy either. Deffinetly will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chelsey Wolnowski

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Queen Charlotte, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2003
Very yummy. I used Frank's hot sauce with this recipe. I took the advice of Linda McLean and let the chicken sit in the fridge after I coated it with the breadcrumbs, and they cooked perfectly. I skipped the oven part and just browned these in a little canola oil. You could taste the hot sauce in the chicken...I guess it soaked up the flavor and it was delicious. Thanks for sharing Anna.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2002
Delicious and easy -- my husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Esmee Williams

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Groton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2003
This recipe was an excellent combination of flavors. I will make this one again. I did add an egg to the mixture so that the bread crumbs would stick better and it worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2002
this was my first attempt at fried chicken, i made it last night. i used drumsticks instead of breasts and it was very good. kind of spicy, but not overwhelmingly so. i thought the crust could've used more salt though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Love the idea of this but it needs a lot more spice (heat and flavour). I didn't shallow fry before baking. Just put the chicken pieces on a roasting tray and sprayed all sides with olive oil. It turned out lovely, crisp and moist but just not enough flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States