Spicy Oven Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2009
This is a great recipe for the guys in my house! I liked the touch of spicy hot. They loved the fact that I breaded the chicken. Who needs take out when you have a recipe like this? Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Karenrf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: May 19, 2009
I'm on the fence about this one. I made exactly as stated just used bone in chicken instead. I was thinking I could skip the browning in the pan step, but wanted to make it the first time as written. I think next time I will skip that step and throw it in the oven. I did have some problems with the breading, but I think it was all the handling of the chicken from frying pan to the oven pan. I did not find it to spicy- just a hint. I used tabasco in the buttermilk mixture. You could taste it, but not the heat of it. My kids ate it no problem. I would probably give this 3.5 stars. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SWEETJAM

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2009
Delicious! Just finished eating this and had to write a review..I made this exactly as written..baked them on a rack as others suggested. They were moist and flavorful..next time just a touch more of each spice. I will be making these again soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: May 5, 2009
This recipe is fabulous when it's baked on a raised rack, rather than the more complicated (and less healthy) original way. It's a major hit in my household, especially when I substitute our home-grown and -dried insanely hot crushed pepper flakes for the cayenne pepper. I've also tried several hot sauces for the buttermilk marinade and my family likes the BW3 Wild sauce best. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tonina_mdc

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I have made this a few times but never use any flour or cornstarch like the recipe says. I was out of buttermilk and the store i went to didnt have any so i got ranch like i read in another review and used it instead. It came out even more flavorful than the buttermilk! I also use 2 Tablespoons of cayenne pepper instead of 1 teaspoon. its always full of flavor and spicy. Its my sister in laws favorite chicken now and shes a really good mexican cook.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2009
This was really good, we're trying to cut back on fat in our diet and this hits the spot. Very good, crispy not soggy. Easy to make as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dover, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2009
This was OK but kind of bland as others have mentioned. I skipped the pan frying as I figured that a lot of the bread crumb coating wold just fall off. I used chicken breasts on the bone and had to cook it 1 hour 15 minutes. Maybe seasoned bread crumbs would add more flavor. I used panko bread crumbs for extra crunch but this recipe just wasn't as flavorful as I was expecting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MetallicGreenWolf

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Even though my whole family love it, I don't think I'll make it again. It seemed like it took forever to make, with frying first and then baking. Also the coating didn't stick too good and it was very messy to make. I have a similar recipe that is just baked and it's much quicker and coats better. However it did taste good, just not worth the hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Love the idea of this but it needs a lot more spice (heat and flavour). I didn't shallow fry before baking. Just put the chicken pieces on a roasting tray and sprayed all sides with olive oil. It turned out lovely, crisp and moist but just not enough flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I thought this was great. I didn't have any bread crumbs, so I crumbled some garlic and herb crackers. It was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Let the Slow Cooker Handle It
Let the Slow Cooker Handle It

The best wintertime meals need a long, slow simmer while you're doing something else.

Get Your Money's Worth
Get Your Money's Worth

Our big collection of budget recipes will leave some jingle in your pocket.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States