Spicy Oven Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
Even though my whole family love it, I don't think I'll make it again. It seemed like it took forever to make, with frying first and then baking. Also the coating didn't stick too good and it was very messy to make. I have a similar recipe that is just baked and it's much quicker and coats better. However it did taste good, just not worth the hassle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
Love the idea of this but it needs a lot more spice (heat and flavour). I didn't shallow fry before baking. Just put the chicken pieces on a roasting tray and sprayed all sides with olive oil. It turned out lovely, crisp and moist but just not enough flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hot Chilli

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2008
I thought this was great. I didn't have any bread crumbs, so I crumbled some garlic and herb crackers. It was delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2008
It was okay, but I prefer the Spicy Rapid Roast.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ancaster, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
This chicken was wonderful! It wasn't super-spicy, just hot enough to bring the flavors of the hot sauce and cayenne out. I've already made this several times and my family really enjoys it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
I made this with drumsticks instead of chicken breasts and the result was great! This dish goes great paired with the Sour Cream and Chive Mashed Potatoes and the Green Bean Bundles of Joy from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2008
Is this ever good! I halved the amount of cayenne and hot sauce. I didn't have time to soak the chicken in the buttermilk/hot sauce for up to 8 hours - just 30 minutes but I also let the chicken set in the fridge for about 30 minutes after it was fully breaded. The breading stayed on during the browning process and after it was out of the oven. I used thighs and they cooked for just over an hour. My hb and I feasted!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2008
We liked this alot - not too spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I made some with pepper sauce and some without for the kids. Everyone in my family hated the ones with the (tabasco)pepper sauce.It just tasted nasty and wasnt even hot. But everyone did like the ones without. *-With pepper sauce ***1/2Without pepper sauce
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
This recipe turned out well for us.I used Trader Joe's Chipotle Habanero Pepper Sauce, and only approx. 15 drops of it (stuff will melt your tongue!) I mistakenly added dried basil to the mix (thought it was the cracked black pepper at first) and I decided to omit the cayenne. I added more garlic flavor (granulated) and went heavy on the paprika. Took Lin's advice from the reviews and let the prepared chicken rest for awhile (maybe 30 minutes) before frying, and had no probs with the coating falling off. I only baked them for about 20 min. ~ chicken was very juicy and flavorful,the breading was delicious and we'll definitely be making this one again. Thanks AnnaG!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TAYLOR~

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New Rochelle, New York, USA
Living In: Palm Springs, California, USA

Displaying results 71-80 (of 141) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States