Spicy Oven Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: May 27, 2010
Delicious! Baked on a cooling rack set in a baking sheet to avoid the chicken getting soggy underneath.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KERIS1172

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Mentor, Ohio, USA
Living In: Hambden Township, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: May 12, 2010
Would have given 5 stars for the flavor if the breading would stay on and the bottom would be crispy. After browning (which took off quite a bit of the breading - will try Linda MClean's suggestion next time (used her ranch dressing suggestion); placed chicken on rack in oven, but the bottoms still came out soggy - and they were crisp from the browning when they went in! Great flavor, tho, and will keep trying to find a solution.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Shreveport, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2010
I cut up a whole chicken and needed 2x the coating mixture to cover everything. I skipped the frying step, sprayed the pieces with butter flavored cooking spray, baked them on a cooking rack, turned them over halfway through to crisp up the bottom. It was really good. Very moist and flavorful meat and the coating was crisp and delicious. It was better than fried chicken, so much less mess and EASY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Randi T

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
This is dish is exceptional. I make it for my family constantly. I haven't stopped to fiddle around with it yet to see if I can improve on it. I should try to some time but it makes the family smile as is so why mess with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Little Rock, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
I used this recipe more as a guide than anything. I didn't soak my chicken in the buttermilk, i didn't use the hot sauce, onion powder, sugar, garlic salt, salt, paprika, or cayenne pepper. Instead of all those spices I used 1 heaping tablespoon of Cajun seasoning. I know... I pretty much ended up with a totally different product, but it was delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bradley

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
good flavor easy to make also put on rack to keep crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
This was really good! I used Tabasco for the hot sauce, but if I made it again I would try something different, maybe Frank's or even a buffalo style sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HARTMR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
This turned out so much better than I thought it would! The spice was perfect. I took the advice of another reviewer and cooked the chicken on a rack to keep it from getting soggy. Also fried the chicken in vegetable oil instead of olive oil because it was all I had. The chicken was tender and moist on the inside and crunchy on the outside! Great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hattiesburg, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2009
Good and simple! Not really spicy though- I will add more spice next time around.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SARAH_ANNEJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Madison, Iowa, USA
Living In: Burlington, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
This turned out great. It was too spicy for the youngest kids, but the older ones loved it. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States