Spicy Oven Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2012
These were fall off the bone good! I used wings and hot sauce instead of pepper sauce. Did not think they were spicy at all. Used a combination of panko and italian bread crumbs. Pan fried for probably less than a minute, placed on wire rack on cookie sheet and in oven for 25 min. Followed others and let them set for 30 min in fridge before putting in skillet..no sogginess at all! Made eggplant french fries to go along.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2012
A tasty dish but I won't make it again. I think that I might have enjoyed it more without the hot spices. Don't get me wrong, I'm from New Mexico and we love spicy foods, but I feel the minimal heat somehow cancelled out the flavor of all the other spices. The chicken was very tender and moist. I used a good quality Ranch dressing, as no buttermilk was available the day I wanted to make it. The calories and fat from the doing it this way were not worth it in my opinion. I don't doubt that it is a great dish for many people, but I'm going to look elsewhere for a similar dish that doesn't require any frying at all, and that uses panko bread crumbs, buttermilk and a mix of regular spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnNM

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2012
Excellent recipe! I used chicken thighs for this recipe and it was some of the best chicken I've ever made.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mandy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dresden, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Gallatin, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2012
We loved this! I marinated the chicken using plain yogurt instead of the buttermilk! I also put the breadcrumb coated chicken in the fridge for 30 min before browning in the skillet. Turned out perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Terry Goff Tripp

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Walhalla, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2012
This is easily my fiance's new favorite recipe. We added more hot sauce and paired it with potatos and fresh sweet corn. Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chuuu

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Belleville, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2012
The flavor was great and the chicken was moist. My only complaint is the breading turned mushy in the oven. I wish I had just finished frying it in the pan. After reading some of the reviews, I will give this another shot using a rack. Not ready to give up on it yet because I really liked the flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jeniferken

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Temecula, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2012
if you're lookin for a way to kick up some flavor in your chicken breast, TRY THIS! i now keep a mixture of all the spices so i can quickly prep the chicken. thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FIREBRAND95

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2012
So good and very easy. I did this with chicken wings!! I'll be making this again. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
This is such a tasty dish! I made a few changes: I did not marinate the chicken with the buttermilk and hot sauce. I simply covered the chicken in the hot sauce and then dredged it in the breadcrumb/spice mixture. I refrigerated it for 30min, browned it according to the directions, and then baked it on a rack to help the breading stay on the chicken. I like spice so I used 3tsp cayenne instead of 1/2tsp. It was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2011
we didnt think this was spicy at all, but it sure was good. i too baked mine on a rack to make sure the outside was crispy. it tured out perfectly cooked, crunchy and juicy and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Meghan Jean Anderson

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Nebraska City, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 31-40 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States