Spicy Oven Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by MSDPT
Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2013
This was overall a pretty good recipe. I don't like spice much so I had to substitute a little. If I were going to make this again I would definitely pan fry for a few minutes before the oven vs. spraying and baking on the rack; definitely would have been crispier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2013
I made this last night for our Breaking Bad finale dinner. I was hoping for a thick, crispy skin but this just didn't deliver. I think the best part of having "fried" chicken is the skin so I left the skin on which was a big mistake. A lot of the coating and skin came off in the pan when I was browning the chicken. I would have given it more stars because that's really my fault for not following the recipe exactly however, the chicken didn't have much flavor and I marinated it overnight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2013
Doubled crumb mixture. Dipped chicken in beaten egg with a bit of buttermilk/hot sauce mixture added, crumb mixture and then let pieces rest before re-coating. Let coated chicken pieces rest on wire rack in a pan for a few minutes before spraying liberally with olive oil. Baked in 350 degree oven for about 40 minutes, turning halfway through.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2013
I'm not a fan of super spicy food but this has a great balance of flavor and spice. I made this for Chicken BLT Salad with Ranch dressing and it was delicious! Somehow I ended up forgetting to cook the chicken in the skillet before baking (next time I will try not to forget) and it still turned out fine. I turned the broiler on for about 2 mins to make sure the breading was still crispy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by camspencer113

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
not crispy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2013
Tried this last night and it was delicious! Best oven-baked chicken I've ever made! Will definitely be making again! Only marinated for 2 hours but still tasted great. Took the advice of others and cooked on a rack to keep the coating from getting soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Noonan, North Dakota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
This is a staple in my household. We eat it a few times a month. Didn't change anything from the original recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Simplyjmay

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walnut Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This recipe was great! i marinated the chicken for 24hours and did it ever have a difference to the chicken! i definitely recommend franks red hot sauce! and also kick up the cayenne pepper to 2 tbsp for a extra spicy breading :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2012
VERY YUMMY!! I also used Frank's hot sauce, it was the right amount of kick. If you're like me, you can increase the cayenne pepper for an extra spicy touch. I usually don't use measuring tools when I cook, so I added all the ingredients by visual scale; therefore, no matter how you make this recipe, you can't go wrong. I added oven baked fresh cut fries and biscuits to complete the meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
So good! Recommend baking with a wire rack on the baking sheet to avoid it getting soggy. Otherwise breading flavor was so good and chicken was tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 158) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Triple-Dipped Fried Chicken

See how to make the crispiest, tastiest homemade fried chicken ever.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States