Spicy Oven Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Loved this recipe! I made it for a cookout at my house and it was a big hit - I had to pass along the recipe the next day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Fugate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
The coating mixture was delicious, and the chicken was tender and tasty! I had two minor issues with the recipe, though. One is that it didn't make sense to me to dirty both a frying pan and a baking dish. So I put the chicken breasts directly into a baking dish and sprayed them with oil, and was happy with how they browned. The other issue is simply that neither Mr. Pickypants nor I are "heat people." So I cut the hot sauce in half, and did not marinate the chicken in it. I don't know if it was the remaining hot sauce, the cayenne, or both, but these were still on the hot side for us. I will definitely make this recipe again, but will work on reducing the heat while retaining those flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Spicy oven fried chicken at its best! I took the tips/advice from other reviewers: 1. dip the chicken in egg before breading 2. refrigerate breaded chicken for 30 min. before pan frying to allow it to set 3. used cookie sheet & baking rack in the oven to keep it crispy. I also used garlic powder instead of garlic salt & cut the sugar. The chicken was crispy, moist, & had just enough spicy. we loved it! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrangeCat2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Listen to the other reviewers! The key to making the coating stick is to put the coated chicken breasts in the fridge for at least 30 minutes prior to frying in oil. Make sure the oil is hot prior to placing the chicken breasts in the pan. I found that peanut oil works quite well. My personal changes: When marinating the chicken, I used buttermilk mixed with Siracha sauce. Spicy, but not overly so. I also used panko bread crumbs which made a light crunchy coating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I added a bit more spice than the recipe because of our personal taste. I also was looking to avoid the whole fry thing so I think the title is a bit deceiving. I took the suggestion of one reviewer and baked it on my pizza stone. Overall, great concept and flavor, but I still had an issue with lack of crispiness. I will try the egg dip before breading next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2014
Very moist and flavorful. As written though, the bottom of the ckn is soggy - thus a 3 star rating. ps: If you're not a fan of buffalo wings, cut back on the hot sauce (the vinegar in it comes through in the flavor)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2014
My family really enjoyed this chicken. My suggestions for improvement would be to pound the chicken into thinner fillets and make sure you marinate the chicken in the buttermilk/hot sauce combo for the total 8 hours recommended.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
I'm not into spicy, so I removed the hot sauce, cayenne and sugar, cut the paprika in half and added an extra half teaspoon of garlic. As was noted in the magazine article this recipe makes twice as much of the coating as necessary.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
We all liked it, even the kids! Next time I may experiment a bit with the ingredients to give it a little more pop. I didn't have any issues with the breading staying on when I followed other user's suggestions and refrigerated the breaded chicken for half an hour before I fried it, and I used a roasting pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
Wonderful and easy! Crispy and tender chicken! Plan to make for 70 seniors' that our cur church serves once a month. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 151) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Spicy Garlic Lime Chicken

See how to make 5-star sautéed chicken that’s great for fajitas.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States