Spicy Oven Fried Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2014
really good. although, think the game changer was using 1/2 c panko breadcrumbs in addition to a 1/2 c. regular breadcrumbs for crunch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
I should've dredged it in egg before bread crumbs. It's a soggy mess!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Crystal Taylor

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2014
This was sooo good. I will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2014
Really wonderful recipe! I used buttermilk and some ranch dressing since I saw that one reviewer used ranch instead of the buttermilk. I also let the skillet get good and hot before putting the chicken in it after reading some people had problems with the coating coming off. It was a little tricky keeping the coating on, I must say. But overall, definitely worth the challenge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Thornton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2014
Delicious!!! Used ranch dressing instead of buttermilk and it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2014
Loved this recipe! I made it for a cookout at my house and it was a big hit - I had to pass along the recipe the next day. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Fugate

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Oxford, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
The coating mixture was delicious, and the chicken was tender and tasty! I had two minor issues with the recipe, though. One is that it didn't make sense to me to dirty both a frying pan and a baking dish. So I put the chicken breasts directly into a baking dish and sprayed them with oil, and was happy with how they browned. The other issue is simply that neither Mr. Pickypants nor I are "heat people." So I cut the hot sauce in half, and did not marinate the chicken in it. I don't know if it was the remaining hot sauce, the cayenne, or both, but these were still on the hot side for us. I will definitely make this recipe again, but will work on reducing the heat while retaining those flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2014
Spicy oven fried chicken at its best! I took the tips/advice from other reviewers: 1. dip the chicken in egg before breading 2. refrigerate breaded chicken for 30 min. before pan frying to allow it to set 3. used cookie sheet & baking rack in the oven to keep it crispy. I also used garlic powder instead of garlic salt & cut the sugar. The chicken was crispy, moist, & had just enough spicy. we loved it! great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OrangeCat2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2014
Listen to the other reviewers! The key to making the coating stick is to put the coated chicken breasts in the fridge for at least 30 minutes prior to frying in oil. Make sure the oil is hot prior to placing the chicken breasts in the pan. I found that peanut oil works quite well. My personal changes: When marinating the chicken, I used buttermilk mixed with Siracha sauce. Spicy, but not overly so. I also used panko bread crumbs which made a light crunchy coating
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pottstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Bonn, Nordrhein-Westfalen, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2014
I added a bit more spice than the recipe because of our personal taste. I also was looking to avoid the whole fry thing so I think the title is a bit deceiving. I took the suggestion of one reviewer and baked it on my pizza stone. Overall, great concept and flavor, but I still had an issue with lack of crispiness. I will try the egg dip before breading next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 156) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Better Than Best Fried Chicken

Discover the secret ingredient that makes this fried chicken the best.

Fried Chicken Tenders

See how to make tender breaded chicken fingers with dipping sauce.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States