Spicy Orange Teriyaki Marinade Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2011
GREAT recipe that I could slightly bend to my needs and adjust in small ways to not only use what I had on hand but to make a little healthier and a tiny bit less spicy for little mouths. I made this marinade this morning (but I did cook it before hand AND added cornstarch for a little thicker marinade--I just cooled it before I used it) and my house smells amazing and I haven't even tasted it yet. I can already tell it's going to be a winner.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2010
Very tasty, I had the butcher cut a slab of ribs in three strips to make rib tips and used this marinade on them and cooked them in the crock pot then crisped them up in the oven. I did not use the cooking wine as I could not find it. But was tasty and I will be using this again makes a lot for an appy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ren Causley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownstown, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
DELISH!! I didn't have orange marmalade in the house so I used what I did have - plum jelly. With the 2 Tbls. of chili paste, it was too spicy. But I can't wait to try it with the marmalade!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2010
DELICIOUS! I did use crushed pineapple instead of chunks because I felt that they would distribute better, but other than that I kept the recipe as is. I used 1/2 of it to marinate chicken thighs overnight, and the other 1/2 I cooked down to use as a glaze while they were cooking. Very tasty! I will be using this recipe again, for sure! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
Excellent. My children ask for chicken made with this at least once a month!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lansing, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2010
Finally, a marinade for teriyaki chicken that has a KICK and actually really tastes like something from a restaurant. I used fresh garlic and fresh ginger and used no-sugar added marmalade. I also cut down a bit on the brown sugar. I'll admit that I didn't use *quite* the full amount of garlic-chili paste, but I was close! I doubled the recipe before I even started, based on several reviews. I knew I'd want some to cook down as a glaze after I cooked the chicken. I let three chicken breasts and several pieces of tofu marinate for about 3 hours and then grilled it all. The chicken was tender and delicious and I can't wait to eat leftovers with more of the glaze. We served this with baked crab rangoon and asparagus roasted with lemon/orange pepper. My family ate brown rice with theirs. Everything was wonderful and we'll definitely have this again and again. Thank you for a wonderful recipe...one of my favorites of all I've ever tried on All Recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2010
We absolutely LOVED this marinade on chicken breasts. It's sweet & spicy, just perfect. I prepared exactly as written with a couple of small exceptions, used prepared minced garlic instead of powder, sriracha sauce, and white wine vinegar instead of the chinese cooking wine. What more can I say, a keeper and a definite do-over. You hit this one out of the ballpark, Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: May 11, 2010
Wonderful flavor. Instead of using it for a marinade, I stir-fried some chicken and veggies and used this for the sauce.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kgadison

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Oelwein, Iowa, USA
Living In: Blaine, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I marinated 2 pork tenderloins over night in this, My husband grilled them on our rotisserie attached to the outdoor grill (also glazing the pork tenderloin with an extra batch I made).. Served with this site's "Fried rice with cilantro" (the rice is amazing!). The glaze was pretty good, The flavors were pretty muddled together, nothing really popped out, I don't think I'll make it again for pork, maybe chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 14, 2009
This is really good. I marinated 6 large chicken breasts in it for almost 48 hours. I made as is except I only had plain chili paste so I just added a couple cloves of garlic and used mirin for the Chinese wine. I wished I would of also made some extra for a glaze - next time I will. This has nice heat so keep that in mind if you aren't into spicy. I think this would be even better on a couple pork tenderloins...yum. I didn't get to eat the pineapple as the previous reviewer stated cuz mine was in with the raw chicken but I'm sure it is good and I would actually use slices with the glaze for ease on the bbq when I make this again. Thanks for the great marinade recipe Rhonda!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patti

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Washington, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Mango Relish

A quick and delicious mango condiment for grilled seafood and meats.

Orange Cumin Vinaigrette

A simple salad dressing seasoned with Dijon, orange zest, and cumin.

How to Make Orange Supremes

See how to separate oranges into beautiful, pith-free segments.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States