Spicy Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This was very welcome for dinner here. It was a tad sweet for me - but I am the odd-ball, everyone else loved it. I followed the recipe and method with the exception of finely chopping the jalapeno pepper. I did this is a heavy duty wok - really high heat and didn't have to spoon off any extra liquid from the chicken. I didn't need half of the marinade either. I used a large spoon and spooned a couple of spoonfulls of the marinade around the edge of the very hot wok - so the liquid would immediately come to a boil and thicken quickly. Thanks for a great recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
crazy good. I forgot to add the fish sauce, skipped jalapeno and used on hand fresh vegetables ( celery carrots onion broccoli ) sauce is fantastic. orange zest is mandatory. Don't skip. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
Kids thought it tasted to much like sweet and sour chicken with the peppers added. I tend to agree.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Escape

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA
Living In: Meridian, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2012
Needed more of an orange kick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marilyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dryden, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Ridgecrest, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I really liked this - just the kind of preparation and food that my family likes. I omitted all of the spicy ingredients since I was feeding a 2 and 4 year old - still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
For a healthy version of this dish, the recipe is excellent. I did do a couple somethings slightly different. I used a splash of sesame oil to grease my pan and I marinated the chicken over-night instead of 1 hour. The end product was sweet, juicy, and flavorful! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
It isn't very spicy but I appreciate the fresh citrus taste of the orange juice in this dish and the ease of preparing this dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by merlion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Excellent flavor! I will make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sun City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I make a slightly simpler version on a weekly basis- so loved by my family!!! I leave out fish sauce, green onions, jalapenos & veggies- it is so quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
We loved this! I used the veggies I had on-hand (sugar snap peas, orange bell pepper, celery cabbage, water chestnuts), used apple cider vinegar (didn't have rice vinegar), and left out the spicy stuff (yes, I'm a wimp!). I used the recipe more for technique than ingredients, but I really think it was the vinegar in the marinade that made it shine. Thanks for another great one in my recipe box, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States