Spicy Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
The first time I made this, I used chicken, and my husband and I enjoyed it. The second time, I used shrimp instead, and now it is his favorite dish. I substitute mini sweet peppers for the red bell pepper. Fantastic flavors. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is one of my favorites. I make my own oj from fresh squeezed oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Awesome!This was as good or better than anything we have had from a take-out restaurant. Served it on a bed of rice.This is something I will make many times over.Thanks chef John! Love the way it thickens without the use of starch. Looking for a recipe for lemon chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
We loved this! A fresh tasting MUCH healthier version of a Chinese food restaurant classic. I told my boyfriend what I was cooking and he was expecting something like you'd get from the take out place, and it's nothing like that. But, he loved it anyway! The only thing I changed was not adding fish sauce...forgot to buy it and I read another reviewer say they left it out and the dish was still great. Will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Yum! Instead of the fish sauce I used black bean sauce. Orange zest from bottle, I used 3 Tablespoons. Definitely, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2013
This recipe works. It's not the best flavor ever, though it has a good head start. I had to add quite a few more flavors to the mix to enjoy (sesame oil, lime, more ginger & garlic etc). I don't really enjoy take out orange chicken, I prefer authentic Asian....maybe this is why I didn't enjoy it? Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Passion4food

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2013
Maybe my expectations were too high based on all the reviews, and the fact that I usually like Chef John's recipes, but I did not like this chicken! I did follow the recipe exactly. Don't get me wrong, the stir fry tasted alright, but it was nothing like any Chinese take out. I will not try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2013
I did not use the jalepeno (felt weird in an asian dish), used chicken breast instead of thighs, and added very thinly sliced broccoli instead of the peppers and peas. I also shortened the cooking time on the chicken and added a bit more of the marinade when I added the broccoli. It is really good. Really, really good. I think the only thing I'm craving is more sauce, so next time I'm going to boil the rest of the marinade to add on top. Thank you!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Aalen, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2013
Loved it! Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Garden City, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2013
I have made this twice now and it is to die for!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States