Spicy Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2012
crazy good. I forgot to add the fish sauce, skipped jalapeno and used on hand fresh vegetables ( celery carrots onion broccoli ) sauce is fantastic. orange zest is mandatory. Don't skip. Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laurel, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2012
For a healthy version of this dish, the recipe is excellent. I did do a couple somethings slightly different. I used a splash of sesame oil to grease my pan and I marinated the chicken over-night instead of 1 hour. The end product was sweet, juicy, and flavorful! Definitely will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crestview, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2013
My husband and I loved this recipe but next time I'll make a few changes. First, I don't know how large a jalapeno Chef John used, but this was SPICY!!! I'm a little bit of a wuss, but my husband isn't, and even he found it hot enough, which he usually doesn't. Next time I'll use 1/2 the jalapenos, take my portion out of the pan, add the other 1/2 and give it to Mr. I can eat anything. The other thing is the cooking times are all a bit long. Use your judgment. Finally, sorry Chef John, but I don't like to add my snow pea pods that early. I added them with the jalapenos at the end. I like them quite crispy and just heated through. My version came out a bit darker than in the video, but it was delicious and a definite keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milpitas, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
we loved it and didn't find it to be super spicy like some reviewers claimed it to be.. bf even said it could have used more jalapenos.. we doubled the orange juice, garlic, jalapeno, and the bell pepper (we used green), omitted the sugar snap peas and fish sauce, used dried ginger instead of fresh, halved the brown sugar, added mushrooms, quadrupled the soy sauce.. we were trying to make it more brothy.. served this over quinoa and it was super delicious.. ty for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2012
This was very welcome for dinner here. It was a tad sweet for me - but I am the odd-ball, everyone else loved it. I followed the recipe and method with the exception of finely chopping the jalapeno pepper. I did this is a heavy duty wok - really high heat and didn't have to spoon off any extra liquid from the chicken. I didn't need half of the marinade either. I used a large spoon and spooned a couple of spoonfulls of the marinade around the edge of the very hot wok - so the liquid would immediately come to a boil and thicken quickly. Thanks for a great recipe. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
I really liked this - just the kind of preparation and food that my family likes. I omitted all of the spicy ingredients since I was feeding a 2 and 4 year old - still very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
Excellent flavor! I will make this often
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: East Liverpool, Ohio, USA
Living In: Sun City, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2012
I make a slightly simpler version on a weekly basis- so loved by my family!!! I leave out fish sauce, green onions, jalapenos & veggies- it is so quick and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2013
We loved this! I used the veggies I had on-hand (sugar snap peas, orange bell pepper, celery cabbage, water chestnuts), used apple cider vinegar (didn't have rice vinegar), and left out the spicy stuff (yes, I'm a wimp!). I used the recipe more for technique than ingredients, but I really think it was the vinegar in the marinade that made it shine. Thanks for another great one in my recipe box, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Teah
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Great recipe! I didn't have all of the ingredients, so I improvised a little. Instead of pea's and cilantro, I used fresh spinach and basil leaves. I don't have that special zest knife, so I used a potato peeler (which sort of worked--definitely going to get me one of those special zest knives!). The potato peeler didn't work quite so well (made some funky orange chunks), so it wasn't as orangey overall as I would have liked, but that's really the only point of improvement! I also let the chicken marinade for 24 hours (we had a quick change of dinner plans), but that was not an issue at all. Absolutely delish! My husband was shocked (yes, he really was because I'm one of those who used to burn toast) at how good it was and said it was "professional"! WOW! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teah

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 38) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States