Spicy Orange Chicken Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2014
Very good, needed additional soy sauce when done. Since I didn't follow it exactly I gave it five stars, but it was only a four star as I prepared it. I didn't have orange zest, and I used shredded carrots instead of sweet pea pods. Also my wife is adverse to spicy meals so I left out the jalapenos. I ate it with brown rice and ended up enjoying it very well. Couldn't get the chicken to caramelize though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Andrew George

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anderson, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2014
I wanted to eat it all!! Only thing I did differently was add some regular onion because I was low on green onion. I guess also I added cornstarch towards the end to thicken but that shouldn't affect taste. Next time I would consider adding all the marinade instead of half. Very yummy though!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TBonnell
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2014
This recipe is great!! I used freshly squeezed oranges and I added green beans. Family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2014
This was REALLY SPICY!!! I didn't seed the jalapeno, which I will do next time, and perhaps only use half or 3/4. Also the cooking time was way off. On med-hi it took me about 3-4 min to caramelize the chicken. I've found that with many of Chef John's recipes I have to turn the temp down, so maybe it's just his stove it's as hot as mine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathy Swift

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Bex Ciantelli
Reviewed: Jun. 26, 2014
Great recipe, easy to experiment with. After cutting the amount of orange juice (freshly squeezed) I let the chicken sit in the marinade and then I coated it in flour and fried it. Immediately after frying I put about a quarter of a white onion (nixing the green onion and Jalepanoes), grated the garlic, and then added all of that with the fried chicken in another skillet. Then I poured the whole rest of the marinade in about a minute later, added the red pepper and the peas to that and continuously mixed that all together for about 4.5 mins. End result served over white rice was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bex Ciantelli

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2014
The first time I made this, I used chicken, and my husband and I enjoyed it. The second time, I used shrimp instead, and now it is his favorite dish. I substitute mini sweet peppers for the red bell pepper. Fantastic flavors. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2014
This is one of my favorites. I make my own oj from fresh squeezed oranges.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Awesome!This was as good or better than anything we have had from a take-out restaurant. Served it on a bed of rice.This is something I will make many times over.Thanks chef John! Love the way it thickens without the use of starch. Looking for a recipe for lemon chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
We loved this! A fresh tasting MUCH healthier version of a Chinese food restaurant classic. I told my boyfriend what I was cooking and he was expecting something like you'd get from the take out place, and it's nothing like that. But, he loved it anyway! The only thing I changed was not adding fish sauce...forgot to buy it and I read another reviewer say they left it out and the dish was still great. Will definitely be making this again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2013
Yum! Instead of the fish sauce I used black bean sauce. Orange zest from bottle, I used 3 Tablespoons. Definitely, a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 52) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Gourmet Chicken
Gourmet Chicken

We have over 150 different ways to take chicken from everyday to gourmet.

Springtime Salads
Springtime Salads

All the tenderest leaves, baby vegetables, and early fruits are ready for the picking.

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Orange Chicken Stir Fry

Tender pieces of chicken cook in a garlic and orange sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States