Spicy Orange Chicken Wing Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2011
Great recipe...I added 4 cloves of fresh garlic. I think what really makes this over the top is...what you do to the chicken before the sauce. Seasoning the chicken before they go in the oven is key. I use, cayenne pepper, tex mex seasoning, montreal steak spice, salt & pepper and chinese five spice seasoning. Make sure you add these spices to both sides of the wings, and oven bake these babies. Make sure the sauce you've made and chicken wings are both hot when you mix together. No regrets here, and no wings are either. Happy New Year!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2012
I was asked to make chicken wings for 2012 Superbowl party. I'd never made them before, nor paid attention to them at other parties. I found this video by Chef John & made them off the video directions, replaying it several times to get the gist. (2nd time see recipe) In the sauce, I also added his suggested 2 finely chopped/ mashed garlic cloves. That’s the easy part! (15 minutes? Make sauce after wings are baked.) I bought two, 4-lb bags of Wayne Farms frozen Wingettes (no tips). [8 lbs made 40 pieces] Thawed. Washed, cut off extra skin, seasoned & floured (30 min). Baked to very crisp in the oven, a 1 & a1/2 hr process @ 450 degrees, turning often. One thing I did was to place them small bunches, from oven to stove-top simmering sauce for 5 minutes. These few minutes soaked sauce into wings and I think was key to their infused, succulence. Arranged into two 7X12 Pyrex dishes so they could be warmed separately. Provided a water bowl with cut lemon for 'finger-dipping..." A chef was present at party who caters & owns a popular deli. She took a photo & emailed her boyfriend that he was missing “the best wings she'd ever had!” [Helpful as I had no comparison] Now when making second time, I see that I didn't have to 'glub-guess’ the recipe from video! Hope they turn out as good as my 1st guesstimate. Wings were spicy & sweet-- but not too sweet. Absolutely delicious. Now, I will notice wings at parties & doubt any will compare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2012
yummers!! i didn't have marmalade, but used a small can of mandarin orange slices. i put the sauce on boneless skinless chicken thighs and baked them. i boiled some vermicelli with leeks, snap peas....just a dash of fish sauce...and put the chicken on top....sooooo goood!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada
Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
I cooked the chicken wings my usual way- barely seasoned and naked on a lipped cookie sheet in the oven at 425 for about an hour. Then I made this sauce and tossed the wings. I made it basically EXACTLY as stated except used half the amount of sriracha- for the kids sake (but we had a bottle at the table for us). This is a really great recipe! I looked at it in the pan and thought it did not look like much so I doubled it. MISTAKE. A little goes a long way of this stuff! Oh well, I will just use the leftovers for a slow cooker meal I think. (shredded orange chicken breast, anyone??) Seriously finger lickin' deliciousness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Living In: Newberg, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
I made this to serve on grilled chicken. Once the chicken was almost finished, I glazed it with the wing sauce. Tastes great on a dinner salad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsFisher0729

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Jonesboro, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was a good alternative to chicken wings. Wasn't as spicy as I thought they would be. Probably needed to add more chile pepper sauce. I will definitely try this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sweet sakura
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2013
The best wing sauce I have EVER tried or made. I use it on drumsticks, wings, chicken tenders, everything! Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sweet sakura

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Hemet, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2013
This was very good, BUT I would highly recommend you taste it before adding the soy sauce. (By the way, the video and the recipe on his website calls for a TEASPOON of soy sauce, not a tablespoon.) If your Asian chili pepper sauce has a lot of salt like mine does, you won't want to add the soy sauce. Chef John says in the video to use Sambal chili paste/sauce or any red chili sauce. I couldn't find Sambal, so I used (red) chili garlic sauce, which has quite a bit of salt. Because of that, I left the soy sauce out, and it was good. He also recommends you add a couple of cloves of smashed or finely minced garlic, which was already in my chili garlic sauce. I think next time I'll try halving the hoisin sauce, to let the orange flavor take center stage a little more. It was very good, though, and I used it on baked chicken drumsticks. It would be even better on wings, and it would be great on breaded chicken bites and steamed broccoli over rice (for restaurant-style orange chicken).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JLANAM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Covington, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
I followed oven frying directions from Chef John's blog & followed the recipe with the addition of 2 garlic cloves. It is a lot more "orangey" than the lovable bear restaurant version, but really delicious. For less orange flavor I might go half marmalade, half Thai Sweet Chili sauce, but as is, my whole family loved these wings. They stayed crispy even after sitting in sauce for an hour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2012
out of this world.. me and bf loved these.. i did them on the cheap and it still came out really good.. had regular white vinegar on hand.. so i used that.. i didn't want to let bf spend 6x the amount on hoisin sauce so i just used bbq sauce.. came out perfect.. talked about doubling the asian chile pepper sauce to make it atomic asian wings.. ty for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 37) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Peach Sweet and Sour Sauce

See how to make a simple sweet-and-sour peach sauce.

Spicy Avocado Chicken

Pan-fried chicken topped with a fresh avocado and red onion salsa.

Chicken Breasts in Caper Cream Sauce

See how to make chicken breasts in a creamy dill and caper sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States