Spicy Orange Bison Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Make sure you read the part about needing to simmer for an hour. I was timing dinner to be ready at a certain time so I actually simmered mine on medium-low for 35 minutes or so. They still turned out great. I served over jasmine rice with the juices since mine did not reduce all the way. I also had an Asian veggie medley on the side. My 4 and 7 year old really like it. I used sweet Asian chili sauce and I used 1 cup of orange juice and 1 1/2 cups of water in place of the 3 cups of water. It was quick and easy to prepare and a tasty way to use my ground bison that I had purchased. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYLISHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Dix, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I loved this recipe -- although I used pre-bought Turkey meatballsl. I used Sriracha for the Asian chile pepper sauce, and I will probably use a little more marmalade the next time a make it (or maybe add some a little OJ or fresh orange peels). Mine turned out a little more spicy than orange-y. Still, I really enjoyed this easy, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was amazing. I too used sriracha and added a single-serving size of mandarin oranges because they needed to go, and a smidge of ground ginger because I take every opportunity to use it. I used the ground pork I had on hand and the meatballs cooked up with amazingly little fat left. The simmer time was magic, the sauce thickened up just like you said it would. It was delicious as well as pretty to look at, and so easy. I would never have tried something like this without you. It's now a regular recipe for both home and potlucks. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marion, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
These meatballs rocked...However I'm giving a 4 star and not a 5. I followed the recipe to a T but calculated the recipe for 2 pounds of ground bison. Which was fine with the meatball part, it was the sauce. I tend to be one that tries to follow recipes to a T if all possible. The sauce was tasty, but you need to note that: 1. drain your pan of any residual fat and oil before adding the ingredients for the sauce. It makes for a very greasy sauce and it prevents your sauce from thickening. 2. I had so much liquid, it looked like soup, hubby agreed too but because there was so much liquid, we didn't find the recipe that spicy. Will make again, but if I'm doubling the meat, I won't be doubling the liquids, 6 cups of water didn't seem like a lot at first until it took me 2 hours to get the liquids to reduce and thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
These are amazingly spicy balls! Love them just as written. I served them straight up and also made a white rice recipe and served them as mini appy's with the rice. Double this recipe! BTW - I wanted to say the Asian Pepper sauce is also known as Sambal. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Lots of flavor. I only simmered for 35 minutes because of time constraints, so I only added 1 cup of water and some cornstarch at the end. It thickened perfectly. I'll probably reduce the marmalade next time as some bites were overpowering. It did have a nice kick also. Served with jasmine rice and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Three cups of water was way to much!!! Mine were still swimming after an hour of a hard simmer. And I watched the video and there was no way he added that much water. The flavor was really good, but to rate the recipe as written I would only give it 3 stars. Next time I would use no more than 1 cup of water and maybe a little less chile sauce, but that's just cause I'm a baby when it comes to spicy food. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I will definitely make these meatballs again; they weren't on my "Top-Ten Most Tasty Meatballs Ever" list, but they disappeared into the bellies of my husband and son, so that's certainly saying something! I made them with beef instead of bison and would add only about a cup of water, rather than three cups; I had to add some cornstarch in the end to get it to thicken. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We made these for the Super Bowl, made some wild mixed rice with it and had Nan also. Fantastic will have this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States