Spicy Orange Bison Balls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2014
I enjoyed these very much, didn't have the asian chili pepper sauce so I just substituted in some mixed 2T ketchup and 1t chili powder. Also I see some people have said that the liquid didn't reduce down for them and I have to assume these people put a lid on during the 1 hour reducing time- he never says to do that (so don't). The meatballs had a great orange flavor to them though I didn't get that much from the sauce, then again these are supposed to be an appetizer or laid out as finger food so one really wouldn't get any sauce. Next time when I make it as an entree I'll use beef broth, OJ, or a mix to try and get the sauce a better orange flavor to go with some rice. They also reheated very well the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Fernandez

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2014
Lots of flavor. I only simmered for 35 minutes because of time constraints, so I only added 1 cup of water and some cornstarch at the end. It thickened perfectly. I'll probably reduce the marmalade next time as some bites were overpowering. It did have a nice kick also. Served with jasmine rice and veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dee Matthews

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seaford, Virginia, USA
Living In: Noblesville, Indiana, USA
Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
These meatballs rocked...However I'm giving a 4 star and not a 5. I followed the recipe to a T but calculated the recipe for 2 pounds of ground bison. Which was fine with the meatball part, it was the sauce. I tend to be one that tries to follow recipes to a T if all possible. The sauce was tasty, but you need to note that: 1. drain your pan of any residual fat and oil before adding the ingredients for the sauce. It makes for a very greasy sauce and it prevents your sauce from thickening. 2. I had so much liquid, it looked like soup, hubby agreed too but because there was so much liquid, we didn't find the recipe that spicy. Will make again, but if I'm doubling the meat, I won't be doubling the liquids, 6 cups of water didn't seem like a lot at first until it took me 2 hours to get the liquids to reduce and thicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 9, 2013
Three cups of water was way to much!!! Mine were still swimming after an hour of a hard simmer. And I watched the video and there was no way he added that much water. The flavor was really good, but to rate the recipe as written I would only give it 3 stars. Next time I would use no more than 1 cup of water and maybe a little less chile sauce, but that's just cause I'm a baby when it comes to spicy food. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by flower80

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
We made these for the Super Bowl, made some wild mixed rice with it and had Nan also. Fantastic will have this again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I will definitely make these meatballs again; they weren't on my "Top-Ten Most Tasty Meatballs Ever" list, but they disappeared into the bellies of my husband and son, so that's certainly saying something! I made them with beef instead of bison and would add only about a cup of water, rather than three cups; I had to add some cornstarch in the end to get it to thicken. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2012
This was amazing. I too used sriracha and added a single-serving size of mandarin oranges because they needed to go, and a smidge of ground ginger because I take every opportunity to use it. I used the ground pork I had on hand and the meatballs cooked up with amazingly little fat left. The simmer time was magic, the sauce thickened up just like you said it would. It was delicious as well as pretty to look at, and so easy. I would never have tried something like this without you. It's now a regular recipe for both home and potlucks. Thanks, Chef John!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bartlett, Tennessee, USA
Living In: Marion, Arkansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Baking Nana
Reviewed: Jul. 2, 2012
These are amazingly spicy balls! Love them just as written. I served them straight up and also made a white rice recipe and served them as mini appy's with the rice. Double this recipe! BTW - I wanted to say the Asian Pepper sauce is also known as Sambal. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baking Nana

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corona, California, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2012
Make sure you read the part about needing to simmer for an hour. I was timing dinner to be ready at a certain time so I actually simmered mine on medium-low for 35 minutes or so. They still turned out great. I served over jasmine rice with the juices since mine did not reduce all the way. I also had an Asian veggie medley on the side. My 4 and 7 year old really like it. I used sweet Asian chili sauce and I used 1 cup of orange juice and 1 1/2 cups of water in place of the 3 cups of water. It was quick and easy to prepare and a tasty way to use my ground bison that I had purchased. Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WYLISHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Dix, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
I loved this recipe -- although I used pre-bought Turkey meatballsl. I used Sriracha for the Asian chile pepper sauce, and I will probably use a little more marmalade the next time a make it (or maybe add some a little OJ or fresh orange peels). Mine turned out a little more spicy than orange-y. Still, I really enjoyed this easy, healthy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Bison Balls

See how to make a lower-fat version of cocktail meatballs.

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken Wings

The perfect wings for people who love spicy orange takeout chicken!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States