Spicy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is a great recipe. The only modifications I made were that I used sirloin steak instead of round steak (which I like better in a stir fry) and instead of the sherry ( I didn't have any) I used a 1/4 cup of orange juice. The next time I make this I'll add some vegetables, like peapods or broccoli, but just the meat and sauce by itself is really good. You would think with the orange zest, marmalade and orange juice I added, the citrus flavor might be too strong, but it was just right! My son raved about it! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
thank you for sumitting such a delicious recipe.Omitted the orange peel used orange juice instead of sherry and used more mermelade instead as other reviwers had suggested.I also added 2c. of broccoli and 2c.of mushrooms.Soo good better and cheaper than eating out. '
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I'm sorry, but I just did not care for this recipe as it is written. It is very quick to make, but following the recipe, there was hardly any orange taste. I left out the red pepper flakes because my family doesn't care for anything too spicy, but I added everything else exactly as written. I had to add almost 3/4-1 cup of orange juice to the beef/sauce mixture to taste any orange flavoring. Definitely not what were are used to having at the local Chinese restaurants. We paired this recipe with one of the authetic egg roll recipes on this site in order to get our veggies in because there are none in this recipe. Some broccoli on the side would have been good with it. Unfortunately, we were so unimpressed that we won't be making it again to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was just so good...we loved it - it was just so quick and easy to make - did as others suggested and left out the orange zest, marinaded beef in orange juice for a couple of hours - added snow peas and water chestnuts - this is a definite keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Passed the 'make again' test hands down! My family loved it.Didn't vary much from the original - used 1/2 an orange & cut the peel very very thin (whats orange beef with out the orange?) added about 2 heaping Tsp of the marmalade 'cause I didn't feel like using a measuring cup Also used a sesame and canola oil mix Picked up a large white rice to go from a local Chinese take out & made some stir fry broccoli in hoisin sauce on the side. My kids thought everything came from the restaurant. Next time I'll try it with the real little peppers found in the Asian market just to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
The recipe had way too much zest in it. My husband kept saying, "all I taste is orange". I will definitely make it again tho' as I think with the omission of the zest or a very reduced amount, we will really like it. Like other reviews I saw, I might use flank steak instead of round also. Made and served with the rice in the picture, it was a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
i used chicken instead of the beef and didn't use any orange peel. it was delicious served with fried rice. i saved some of the leftover sauce and the next day i warmed it up and ate it over some white rice. mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is a good recipe. Omit the orange peel as marmalade has orange peel in it. I made it with the orange peel and it was loaded with bitter orange taste which took away from the dish. Make with broccoli, carrots and water chestnuts. Very good...just enough red pepper to give it a slight kick. I am going to try the orange juice trick next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This was very good. I served it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was super! Added broccoli and sliced carrots and served over rice. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Rockin' Tacos
Rockin' Tacos

A simple tortilla topped with Mexican fillings gives you a burst of spicy flavor.

Mexican Desserts
Mexican Desserts

Flan, churros, tres leches cake? We have these and so many more. It's fiesta time!

Spring Sale! Only $5.99
Spring Sale! Only $5.99

Great recipes and cooking tips! For a limited time, get a year of Allrecipes Magazine for $5.99.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States