Spicy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2010
Exceptional recipe. I did stir fry some carrots and mushrooms like someone suggested. I will try other vegetables when I make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Hackettstown, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2009
I made the recipe today, and althought it was quick and easy -- I made sure to read the reviews for any extra tips. For all the reviews that say dip your beef in corn starch before frying -- don't do it. I made this mistake and when I went to add the ingredients for the sauce, it thickened wayyy to much and the cooked corn strach made the sauce lumpy. My other recommendation is to add orange juice to the recipe. It really helps to add favour to the dish. I would all recommend adding some veggies like peppers, onions and green beans to jazz up the dish a bit. Other then that it tasted pretty good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
This recipe was pretty good. I will cut back on the sherry next time, and bump up the orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fran

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Aiken, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ALFANN02
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2009
Very good but not spicey at all. I ended up steaming broccoli and tossing with the sauce at the end. It just seemed like it was missing veggies. Good flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ALFANN02

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2009
My husband and I love this recipe. I added steamed broccoli and sauted onion to complete the meal. As many people recommended , I omitted orange zest, but would add it the next time. Marmalade was not enough for a strong orange flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AKIKO10028

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nakano, Tokyo, Japan
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Yum!! I didn't think the orange was to strong I think it could have been stonger. Will use less ginger next time though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olathe, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
This is pretty good nothing spectacular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Decatur, Illinois, USA
Living In: Powder Springs, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2009
This is a great recipe. The only modifications I made were that I used sirloin steak instead of round steak (which I like better in a stir fry) and instead of the sherry ( I didn't have any) I used a 1/4 cup of orange juice. The next time I make this I'll add some vegetables, like peapods or broccoli, but just the meat and sauce by itself is really good. You would think with the orange zest, marmalade and orange juice I added, the citrus flavor might be too strong, but it was just right! My son raved about it! This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
thank you for sumitting such a delicious recipe.Omitted the orange peel used orange juice instead of sherry and used more mermelade instead as other reviwers had suggested.I also added 2c. of broccoli and 2c.of mushrooms.Soo good better and cheaper than eating out. '
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lvmy2girls

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
I'm sorry, but I just did not care for this recipe as it is written. It is very quick to make, but following the recipe, there was hardly any orange taste. I left out the red pepper flakes because my family doesn't care for anything too spicy, but I added everything else exactly as written. I had to add almost 3/4-1 cup of orange juice to the beef/sauce mixture to taste any orange flavoring. Definitely not what were are used to having at the local Chinese restaurants. We paired this recipe with one of the authetic egg roll recipes on this site in order to get our veggies in because there are none in this recipe. Some broccoli on the side would have been good with it. Unfortunately, we were so unimpressed that we won't be making it again to see.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States