Spicy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was great! I somewhat kept true to the recipe, instead of slivers, I used a vegetable peeler and got large chunks of orange peel so my daughter wouldn't spend all evening picking out little bits of peel. Other then that, I marinated the steak in soy sauce, orange juice, orange marmalade, and olive oil for a few hours. I'm not a big fan of round steak, as it always seems to over cook for me. Most of my strips ended up being cooked medium or so, but I think my problem was not cutting them thin enough. Either way, that would be my fault. My sauce didn't thicken as quickly, so I whisked some additional soy sauce and corn starch together and got it thick before anything had a chance to cool down. Great dinner, everyone cleaned their plates and I snuck back out for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Meh. The sauce was definitely missing something. Wouldn't make again without serious revisions.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2010
This was a great meal! Very easy and quick to prepare. Like the other reviewers, I substituted orange juice for the sherry and added mushrooms. I ended up adding more cornstarch towards the end to thicken it up a little. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2010
For God's Sake leave out the orange zest. Otherwise this would be rated 5 stars next time I make it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
This meal was delicious and soooo easy to make. It will definitely become a regular
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Raven^

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Sutton West, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
This was incredible. Even my 2 year old ate it, and he normally won't eat protein. I substituted orange juice for the sherry, and left out the orange peel completely. I also added a bag of frozen stir-fry veggies when the meat was almost done. We will have this frequently.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MMOH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Blacksburg, Virginia, USA
Living In: Heidelberg, Baden-Württemberg, Germany

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2010
Yum! Easy and fast--kids were even helping. Quick and good for weeknights.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2010
I've made this with beef an chicken. It comes out great both ways.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Warren C.

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rogue River, Oregon, USA
Living In: Coralville, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2010
EXCELLENT! Substituted the Sherry with Orange juice and also marinated it in OJ. I also did not add the orange peel (as I didn't have any!). It was very full of orange flavor, but just the way I like it! Thanks for an awesome recipe! I actually made my first *SUCCESSFUL* Chinese dish..
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by armywife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jan. 14, 2010
Yummy, i omitted the orange peel. Next time i will add carrots and use chicken instead though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States