Spicy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This tastes amazing and is really easy to make! I love asain food, so I'm a tough critic wjen it comes to making something I actually like, and this was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKIEMARIE
Home Town: Waubeka, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This recipie was great. I followed the advice of others and just used large chunks of orange peel. I stir fryed the orange peel with fresh grated ginger, garlic, onions, and carrots. Then I pulled out the orange peel and added the remaining ingredients. I also didn't have any cornstarch and just used a couple of spoons of flour to thicken it up. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZKANE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
this was real good the only change i made was to not cook with the sherry. I used another persons subs. oj and vanilla thanks for the recipe it will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mofks

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This recipe was OK, but it was no where near as good as P.F.Changs. The soy sauce needs to be reduced a lot b/c the original recipe was too salty and the red pepper flakes could be doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoodcookr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This recipe has way too much orange peel. I recommend taking it out completely. If not, at least cut it by half. I also added extra garlic and used fresh ginger rather than ground ginger. The sauce flavor is really good, but the orange peel makes it bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was a nice addition to a chinese birthday buffet for my sister. I marinated filet in low-sodium soy, garlic, ginger and OJ for several hours, and added red and green peppers and onion to the stir fry. I used the zest of one orange (about two tablespoons) to finish. Nice, mellow orange flavor, definitely not overpowering. My only change would be to decrease the amount of sauce, just a bit too soupy (probably because of the additional liquid in the marinade), by using less beef broth. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
My family loved this recipe. I also subsituted OJ for the brandy. One change was that I assembled all ingredients into a mixing cup and after browning the meat and adding in a bag of frozen stir fry vegetables I poured sauce over the top and let it reduce down. Very quick and very easy. The most time consuming aspect was grating the orange peel but now I'll take the advice posted her and only quarter the peel to remove later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2006
I took suggestions from others and marinated the beef in soy sauce, garlic, orange juice and red pepper. I then sauteed it with the large chunks of orange peel and the orange marmalade mixture. It was very good - especially the sauce. I might try a different kind of beef next time. Overall very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2006
I marinated the meat in some soy sauce, brown sugar, ginger paste, minced garlic and 3/4 cup orange juice for 30 minutes. While the meat was marinating - I grated one large carrot and sliced one large red pepper. I cut one orange in quarters (removed the fruit for my daughter to enjoy) then cut two of the quarters in thick long strips. I prepped the remaining ingredients so they would be ready to go (garlic, ginger paste **do not use ground ginger if you can avoid it** and the orange peel slices in one small bowl... the broth, soy sauce, crushed red pepper, etc... in another bowl) After cooking the meat, I set it aside and drained most of the remaining liquid from the pan - reserving just enough to cook the veggies for a few minutes to get them tender. Then I followed the remainder of the recipe. ***Please note my following changes/omissions*** I do not use alcohol in any of my cooking, but I am aware of the substitutes - so instead of sherry I used 1/3 cup of orange juice with one teaspoon of alcohol free vanilla extract. I didn't have any beef broth so I used a large chicken buillion cube instead (you can also try a vegetable buillion cube too, this has worked well for me in the past). I also used 1/2 tablespoon of crushed red pepper for a more spicier flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Serena

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2006
I did not like this recipe at all. It was far too much orange (I was looking for a recipe that mimicked the flavor of White Spot Restaurant's Orange Beef Stirfry)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States