Spicy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I found this recipe a few years ago. I made it one time and lost the recipe in moving and could not remember where I got it from. My children still complain that I haven't made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Incredibly aromatic and wonderfully balanced flavor. After browning the beef I added sliced onions and peppers to saute a few minutes. Then added back the beef and followed the recipe as specified. Paired w/ Fried Rice - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Neither my wife nor I cared for this. I believe I followed the recipe correctly but this did not taste like orange beef we have had before. Trying to put it into words, I believe it was just too strong. Maybe too much sherry. We both love spicy foods and this really could have used more spice, but that wasn't the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2006
This tastes amazing and is really easy to make! I love asain food, so I'm a tough critic wjen it comes to making something I actually like, and this was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BECKIEMARIE
Home Town: Waubeka, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Monroe, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2006
This recipie was great. I followed the advice of others and just used large chunks of orange peel. I stir fryed the orange peel with fresh grated ginger, garlic, onions, and carrots. Then I pulled out the orange peel and added the remaining ingredients. I also didn't have any cornstarch and just used a couple of spoons of flour to thicken it up. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SUZKANE

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2006
this was real good the only change i made was to not cook with the sherry. I used another persons subs. oj and vanilla thanks for the recipe it will be made again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angie Beliveau

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Garner, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2006
This recipe was OK, but it was no where near as good as P.F.Changs. The soy sauce needs to be reduced a lot b/c the original recipe was too salty and the red pepper flakes could be doubled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dgoodcookr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Kyle, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2006
This recipe has way too much orange peel. I recommend taking it out completely. If not, at least cut it by half. I also added extra garlic and used fresh ginger rather than ground ginger. The sauce flavor is really good, but the orange peel makes it bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA
Living In: Snohomish, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2006
This was a nice addition to a chinese birthday buffet for my sister. I marinated filet in low-sodium soy, garlic, ginger and OJ for several hours, and added red and green peppers and onion to the stir fry. I used the zest of one orange (about two tablespoons) to finish. Nice, mellow orange flavor, definitely not overpowering. My only change would be to decrease the amount of sauce, just a bit too soupy (probably because of the additional liquid in the marinade), by using less beef broth. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
My family loved this recipe. I also subsituted OJ for the brandy. One change was that I assembled all ingredients into a mixing cup and after browning the meat and adding in a bag of frozen stir fry vegetables I poured sauce over the top and let it reduce down. Very quick and very easy. The most time consuming aspect was grating the orange peel but now I'll take the advice posted her and only quarter the peel to remove later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kymama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lexington, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 195) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States