Spicy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2007
Ironically - my husband said it needed more orage - very different from other reviews. We did use about 2-3 tsp of fresh minced ginger instead of the dried ground. Regardless, it was good and we will make again. Thaks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cocoa Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2007
I was disappointed. I followed the recipe exactly. Way too much orange, the meat was tough and the sauce was too thick. I would try making it again for myself with some changes but my family was totally turned off.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2007
We thought this was pretty good. I also added more pepper flakes because we like spicy and 1/2 the amount of orange zest, which I thought was perfect. I was out of sherry, so just used 1/4 cup of white wine. And I added extra garlic just because I like it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 23DAISYS

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 19, 2007
Not spicy at all, but still good. Left out the orange zest/peel and didn't miss it (I don't like that chewy texture in my orange beef).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2007
This dish had good flavor, but the beef was tough. I used flank steak instead of round steak so that might have been my fault. I think next time I will boil the beef first and cut down on the cornstarch as I thought the sauce was a bit thick. I also doubled the red pepper and still couldn't taste the spiciness.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
This was pretty tasty. I subbed a smaller amount of red wine vinegar for the sherry, so it ended up being a little tarter than I would have liked. I also followed reviewers recommendations and marinated the steak first in soy sauce, garlic, ginger, and a little lemon juice and vinegar. I added stirfried onion, bell pepper, and water chestnuts to the sauce as well. as well. Good base recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melabelle

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Paducah, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2007
Not really a favorite. It smelled wonderful, but the taste was way too sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
I found this recipe a few years ago. I made it one time and lost the recipe in moving and could not remember where I got it from. My children still complain that I haven't made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2006
Incredibly aromatic and wonderfully balanced flavor. After browning the beef I added sliced onions and peppers to saute a few minutes. Then added back the beef and followed the recipe as specified. Paired w/ Fried Rice - excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAD4CUISINE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Livonia, Michigan, USA
Living In: Dearborn, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Neither my wife nor I cared for this. I believe I followed the recipe correctly but this did not taste like orange beef we have had before. Trying to put it into words, I believe it was just too strong. Maybe too much sherry. We both love spicy foods and this really could have used more spice, but that wasn't the problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States