Spicy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2008
This dish has potential, and while my husband might have given it four stars, I am a little less generous. To me, it was somewhat bitter, but that is probably because I am not too keen on orange marmalade or orange peel. So, if you are not a fan of fruitcake, you might not care as much for this recipe. However, I do not think that I am finished experimenting with this one. I intend to read the reviews and figure out a way to add sweetness to the overall flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2008
Very, very good...I made it just as stated, except added a tbs.or so of brown sugar, served over plain white rice and sprinkled with green onion and sesame seeds! YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Vancouver, Washington, USA
Living In: Redlands, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
Excellent! The only change I made to the recipe was to use thinly sliced Delmonico steak & onions (which I marinated in juice from the zested orange). Served over brown rice and added in a bag of steamed broccoil, cauliflower, & carrots. We were out of fresh veggies and these worked just fine. Perfect meal served with a piece of Texas toast. Great orange taste with added zest from the pepper flakes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAMABEAC

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: New Creek, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
This is a good recipe. My date did complain that it was a little spicy. I followed the other reviewer and marinated the beef in orange juice, soy sauce, olive oil, and 2 packets of sugar for 1 hr. Meat was very flavorful. I only used 1 tablespoon of orange zest which was more than enough. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2007
Very very yummy! I added brown sugar and some veggies! VERY YUMMY!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda Handy

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Lake City, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2007
Hubby said that the orange was way too strong and it made the entire dish bitter. Won't be making this again. :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grumpy's Honeybunch

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richville, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2007
Pretty darn good. Husband really liked it. I threw in a bag of snow pea stir fry veggies and a red pepper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jj_howell27

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Huntley, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2007
I only added half of the orange peel called for and would recommend that you add some veggies to your rice. Very yummy and really easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2007
We love this recipe! It is fast and very flavorful. Definatly take the time to make the fried rice too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2007
Still plenty of orange flavor without the zest. I added other veggies too and loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Salem, Oregon, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 193) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States