Spicy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2009
This was just so good...we loved it - it was just so quick and easy to make - did as others suggested and left out the orange zest, marinaded beef in orange juice for a couple of hours - added snow peas and water chestnuts - this is a definite keeper...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Great Falls, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
Passed the 'make again' test hands down! My family loved it.Didn't vary much from the original - used 1/2 an orange & cut the peel very very thin (whats orange beef with out the orange?) added about 2 heaping Tsp of the marmalade 'cause I didn't feel like using a measuring cup Also used a sesame and canola oil mix Picked up a large white rice to go from a local Chinese take out & made some stir fry broccoli in hoisin sauce on the side. My kids thought everything came from the restaurant. Next time I'll try it with the real little peppers found in the Asian market just to kick it up a notch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2008
The recipe had way too much zest in it. My husband kept saying, "all I taste is orange". I will definitely make it again tho' as I think with the omission of the zest or a very reduced amount, we will really like it. Like other reviews I saw, I might use flank steak instead of round also. Made and served with the rice in the picture, it was a quick meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2008
i used chicken instead of the beef and didn't use any orange peel. it was delicious served with fried rice. i saved some of the leftover sauce and the next day i warmed it up and ate it over some white rice. mmmm.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bakersfield, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2008
This is a good recipe. Omit the orange peel as marmalade has orange peel in it. I made it with the orange peel and it was loaded with bitter orange taste which took away from the dish. Make with broccoli, carrots and water chestnuts. Very good...just enough red pepper to give it a slight kick. I am going to try the orange juice trick next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This was very good. I served it with brown rice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2008
This was super! Added broccoli and sliced carrots and served over rice. I will definately make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Harleysville, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 5, 2008
This was too sweet and sticky and didn't have enough orange flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Berkeley, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2008
This was very tasty. I also omitted the orange peel; the marmalade on it's own was very orangey and had zest in it. I do wish however that I could find an orange beef recipe closer to the PF Chang's/Pei Wei version. Also, I decided to skimp on the red pepper because my hubby can't handle spice, but we both wish I would have used the amount called for, as it was not spicy at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madabo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2008
Everyone in my family LOVED this dish. Even my 3 year old son ate it all without a fuss! We will definatly make this one again. I did marinate the meat overnight in the soy sauce/orange marmalade mixture and I also stir-fried red onions and carrots with the meat. Oh, and I left the orange peel in big peices and fished them out. It was amazing!! Thanks for the recipe and the reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tessa

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

Displaying results 41-50 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States