Spicy Orange Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2011
This is pretty good. I did a few things differently. First, I made the whole thing in the crockpot. Second, I used sirloin since we don't like round steak. I first seasoned and seared the sirloin like you would a pot roast. Then I slow cooked it whole for a few hours before taking it out and thinly slicing it. Put the slices back and let it continue for a few more hours. Like others, I didn't have sherry so I used OJ. Didn't bother with orange peel, either. I did use substantially more crushed red along with some cayenne because we are spice freaks. I also used more orange marmalade since I didn't think the orange flavor was quite strong enough (IMO, soy sauce tends to overpower a lot of other flavors). Finally, I added mushrooms to give it more body. Served it over jasmine rice and it was a pretty big hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Poughkeepsie, New York, USA
Living In: Aurora, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2011
Cooked it and it was pretty good. I followed the recipe but the sauce came out pretty thick. I think I need to you use less corn starch next time. Otherwise, great meal and not hard to make. If you have orange marmalade with some orange peels in them, then I think you can knix the orange peels for zest. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 5, 2011
This was a big hit in my house! I skipped the orange peel as suggested by other reviews and rather than sautee the garlic and ginger, i just mixed them into the sauce mix and poured it all in at the same time. I made 1.5x the sauce beacause I had about 1.5 lbs of round steak but I don't think I really needed to, it was plenty of sauce. Could have been a bit thicker for presentation sake, but I will definitely be making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
I did not care for this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyndy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2011
This was SOOOO good! I substituted flour since I didn't have any cornstarch, omitted the sherry and used Sesame Oil instead of vegetable oil, but other than that, I followed the recipe and it was DELICIOUS!!! Also added carrots and asparagus to the cooked meat and let it simmer until tender.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This had some of the right flavors and textures but it wasn't that orange-y. I might try mixing this recipe with another and add orange concentrate and marinate the meat first.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Made this a couple nights ago. Minus the marmalade. Loooooove.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
Watch the pepper flakes....Made this tonight. It was good, but I added too many flakes. Very yummy! Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This is NOW my "Go To" recipe for a quick meal. Love it all. I used pork, chicken and beef and they all are great. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2010
This was great! I somewhat kept true to the recipe, instead of slivers, I used a vegetable peeler and got large chunks of orange peel so my daughter wouldn't spend all evening picking out little bits of peel. Other then that, I marinated the steak in soy sauce, orange juice, orange marmalade, and olive oil for a few hours. I'm not a big fan of round steak, as it always seems to over cook for me. Most of my strips ended up being cooked medium or so, but I think my problem was not cutting them thin enough. Either way, that would be my fault. My sauce didn't thicken as quickly, so I whisked some additional soy sauce and corn starch together and got it thick before anything had a chance to cool down. Great dinner, everyone cleaned their plates and I snuck back out for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amherst, New Hampshire, USA
Living In: Napoli, Campania, Italy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 192) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Orange Zest Beef

See how to make a healthier version of orange beef.

Spicy Orange Chicken

Discover a healthier version of spicy orange chicken.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States