Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2005
I made these last night and they are dynamite! A suggestion: I made the first batch dropping the cookies in rounded teaspoons like suggested and they came out a little small and hard. The second batch I made slightly bigger, like a teaspoon and a half, and they came out much softer and chewier. They are really great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Malibu, California, USA
Living In: Hollywood, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2003
Loved this recipe. Used carrot cake mix as that was all I had in the house. I also added 3 Tbsp. of water to this recipe after reading the review from the lady in Canada saying hers did not spread too well. I will use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2002
These have a nice flavor, but didn't spread out very much--ended up looking like little balls. That may be because I live in Canada and our cake mixes are in grams, not ounces. I might have had too much cake mix and it made to batter too thick. But I'll make them again. Very easy and my family loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
These were the easiest "homemade" cookies I've ever made and were a real hit. I tried another scratch recipe from here and they were too sweet. These are just right with just the right amount of spice. My husband likes nuts in his oatmeal cookies so I added some chopped walnuts and increased the amount of raisins a little and he loved them. I use a cookie scoop to put them on the baking pan and the first sheet took a long time to bake and didn't spread much so the second batch I flattened with a spatula and they were just right and took less time to bake. I will use this again and again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skiatook, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bonham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2005
Dissapointing, not like a cookie at all, but tastes like the cake mix...even the texture is too cakey. I won't make these again, miss the butter flavor of a traditional oatmeal cookie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAWNIE44

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I tried these cookies, they were very easy to make. They were very good right out of the oven so I thought they would harden the next day when in fact they were even better. The outside was a little crisp and the middle was still chewy, everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2001
These cookies are so easy to make, and they are extremely tasty. I brought them to work, and everybody loved them. I even had a couple people ask me for the recipe. One person even offered to pay me to make a batch for him.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
These are the best, easiest, time-saving cookies I have ever made!! I doubled (at least) the raisins and added nuts. What a quick recipe that tastes like you spent hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These went together in the blink of an eye. I did use about a cup and a half of oatmeal and about a cup of raisins. Used a mini ice cream scoop to measure out the dough and flattened the top very slightly. They came out very tender, cake-like rather than crispy, and wonderful. You'd never know they aren't totally from "scratch".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I give this recipe 5 stars because of the ease of baking and the delicious end product. However, I did have to bake it for a full 15 mts before the cookies were done. They were a light brown all over and settled well. I used a yellow cake mix since it was the only one I had and added some ground cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves for the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States