Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2005
I tried these cookies, they were very easy to make. They were very good right out of the oven so I thought they would harden the next day when in fact they were even better. The outside was a little crisp and the middle was still chewy, everybody loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2005
I give this recipe 5 stars because of the ease of baking and the delicious end product. However, I did have to bake it for a full 15 mts before the cookies were done. They were a light brown all over and settled well. I used a yellow cake mix since it was the only one I had and added some ground cinnamon, nutmeg and cloves for the spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
These are the best, easiest, time-saving cookies I have ever made!! I doubled (at least) the raisins and added nuts. What a quick recipe that tastes like you spent hours.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2005
These were very good! I'm going to make them again...soon! They don't really brown much and I flattened them a little bit w/ my spatula towards the end of the bake time. I used my pampered chef cookie scoop to make them uniform shape & size. I also pressed the cookie tops into chopped pecans before baking. I recommend these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MARKANDDEEA

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2005
Very easy to make, I thought they were good, just not terrific. I brought them into work today, let's see how the response is here. But then again people at work are vultures no matter what you bring in.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MAEMAE3

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2005
I made these for my husband to take in to work and they were gone within an hour! I've already had requests to send them in care packages...great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2004
Yummy! Don't wait for these cookies to look done or even get hard in the oven - they will still be very soft when you take them out, but will "substantialize" as they cool. I left mine in too long thinking they weren't done, and some ended up being as hard as a rock when they cooled! Even so, I took 3 dozen to the college students at church and they were gone in no time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2004
These were the easiest "homemade" cookies I've ever made and were a real hit. I tried another scratch recipe from here and they were too sweet. These are just right with just the right amount of spice. My husband likes nuts in his oatmeal cookies so I added some chopped walnuts and increased the amount of raisins a little and he loved them. I use a cookie scoop to put them on the baking pan and the first sheet took a long time to bake and didn't spread much so the second batch I flattened with a spatula and they were just right and took less time to bake. I will use this again and again! Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Skiatook, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Bonham, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2004
Very good - made as stated except I used Sunmaid Fruit Bits instead of plain raisins. Also had to add about 3 tbsps water to make batter a bit easier to work with. Only the edges brown slightly, so the appearance is not the best, but they are soft and chewy and the spice cake provides a great flavor. Even my picky 2 year old will eat them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2004
These are some of the easiest, chewiest cookies I've ever made. I've been making them since last year (around x-mas) in leiu of gifts and everybody loves them. Very easy to make, with so few ingredients, and an easy clean up. My husband requests his with chocolate chips. :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 56) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States