Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2011
Not bad but, like others have said, these cookies don't spread. Nor do they brown. It's a bit of trial and error to get the right cooking time. Also, I'm wondering if dropping by "teaspoonfuls" is an error. I tried that, and they were about the size of a nickle. I used a tablespoon for measuring and that seemed to be a good size. Definitley will want to flatten these cookies before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kari

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Leesburg, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2010
awesome! try with cranberries!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lizbeth7955

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
I used old fashioned oats instead of quick cooking, and mixed by hand. After dropping them on the cookie sheet, I also flatted out a bit, considered some of the comments that they didn't spread much. Definitely a little different than your usual oatmeal raising, but turned out great--not too cake-like at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
I have made these many times and they are the best! I always get compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by julie05

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Antioch, California, USA
Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sumchelle
Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2009
TAWNIE44 is dead on with her review. Too box-mix tasting. Texture is cakey not cookie-like. DH seemed to like these to a point, but I didn't at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2008
These went together in the blink of an eye. I did use about a cup and a half of oatmeal and about a cup of raisins. Used a mini ice cream scoop to measure out the dough and flattened the top very slightly. They came out very tender, cake-like rather than crispy, and wonderful. You'd never know they aren't totally from "scratch".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2008
Very good and easy to make. Changed a few things.... added two cups of oatmeal, little more oil and about 1/4 cup of water. One reviewer mentioned increase size of cookie... I agree because they don't spread very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2008
These little cookies were 'Spectacular'! My 5 year old will only eat chocolate chip cookies but ate about 7 of these delicious little things! I didn't put raisins in and they turned out great still!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beth

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rochester, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2008
Best oatmeal raisin cookies ever!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2008
Excellent recipe. I made a couple of mods:. I used 1/2 cup of Splenda instead of white sugar, 100ml Eggbeaters instead of 2 eggs(no cholesterol) and used 1 cup of wholewheat flour and 1/2 cup white flour instead of 1 1/2 cups white flour. I also added a 1/2 tsp of Allspice.They taste fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States