Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by UTMomof5
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
Great recipe, easy and delicious! I only had medium eggs in my fridge (you are supposed to use large for baking) so I added 3 eggs because the dough seemed too dry with just two, and I didn't want to increase the oil. I also exchanged the raisins with chocolate chips because my kids won't eat cookies with raisins in them. I made them bigger, about walnut size, and they turned out fabulously! The texture was just like a cookie, not cake-like for me. Definitely recommend this recipe when you are short on time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by UTMomof5

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Layton, Utah, USA
Living In: Springville, Utah, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2013
Awesome - They stay soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sarans93
Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Great recipe! Love having a variety of cake-mix cookie recipes on hand for very quick cookies! I made 30 medium-large sized cookies and did the calorie count...107/cookie, nice! If I actually made 48 they would have been way under 100 (67 calories/cookie), which is a nice advertiser! I did end up adding a tablespoon of water, which helped to mix the wet and dry ingredients together. Also, I baked them for around 15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarans93

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2013
If you're in a hurry to make some cookies, these are so easy and fast to make. Good flavor, and made for a crispy outside and chewy inside. Use a tupperware container to help keep them from getting too hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Deedee
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2013
Followed this recipe as written and the results were exactly what I was looking for. The spices were PERFECT! THe cookie was neither too soft nor too crunchy. It was slightly crisp on the outside and soft on the inside. I was worried they might get hard overnight but much to my surprise when I pulled one out of the cookie jar the next day it was actually softer on the inside and tasted better. I did swap out the raisins for Heath Toffee Chocolate pieces...because my kiddos wont eat raisins. INCREDIBLE! I think this would be amazing with butterscotch chips as well. Love, love, love this recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I am partial to spice, oatmeal, and raisins so this cookie is the bomb! The batter is really thick when you mix it but drops from a cookie scooper very well. It won't spread out but I kinda like that. They are cake-like but that's the yummy part. These are super simple to make and I'll be making them again. Oh, and if you are on WW each cookie has a points plus value of 4. Yum. Totally worth it to me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
My husband really enjoyed the extra spice to these! Great find and easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2012
My sister gave me this recipe but I used pure butter in place of oil. I am also adding 2 cups oats, 1 cup raisans, and 1 cup walnuts. I use a soup spoon for measure and will press them with a glass. I also will bake them 12-15 minutes. I might use half applesauce and half butter for moister cookie. I don't like them brown, just done and soft in the center. I am making them for son-in-law as they are his favorite kind. Will comment on results after I bake them. I have made them often and like them very much. 5 stars for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skylla

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
Hmm. I think I would rate these cookies at a 3 1/2, but I will up them to 4 because I may have made an error somewhere (but I can't think of where...). The flavor was OK, and I substituted half of the oil with applesauce. I also used chocolate chips instead of raisins, which I thought helped. I made them larger than called for based on other reviews. They turned out pretty 'fluffy' for a cookie, but mine looked like the pictures so I think I did it right.. Who knows, maybe the ladies at work will love them tomorrow. So, a decent cookie but just not my favorite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KimberlyJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 55) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States