Spicy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This recipe goes from "pretty good" to "absolutely phenomenal" with a few simple changes. 1. Extra spices - I used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice. 2. An extra banana. 3. Nuts (I used walnuts) and raisins. Those are probably the 3 most important changes I made, but I also used 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour and used 50% lighter butter instead of shortening. Oh, and added a capful of vanilla extract. These are absolutely to die for!!! Also used only 3/4 c. sugar, 1/4 c. of which was actually Splenda...still found them very sweet and didn't notice the splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2003
Great recipe!!! I tweeked the original a little bit just for fun and they came out great! I used whole wheat flour instead of all-purpose and instead of shortening, I used 1/2 cup butter and 1/4 cup of Smart Start butter spread. I thought the batter was rather dry so I added a second banana and then 2/3 of a cup of dried cranberry's. I calculated the total calories which came out to 3,330 for the entire batch and 121.75g fat. I yielded 50 cookies so that came to 67 cal's per cookie and 2.4g fat! Thanks for a great cookie :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2002
These cookies are so easy to make and absolutely wonderful! The spices and banana mix well to create a great flavor. I made one batch to take to work. They were snatched up so fast I made another batch that night to take in the next day. A great way to use ripe bananas that you have on hand. I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Leandro, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I just made this recipe today and they are great! I split my batch and made half with chocolate chips and half with peanut butter chips. I made a few testers first with no chips added as well. My boyfriend likes the chocolate ones but I actually prefer the ones with nothing added. They are excellent cookies just as is. They are like mini, light, moist banana breads, so good! The peanutbutter chip ones were good too if you like pb and banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
best hot out of the oven made less fattening by subsituting 1/2 cup of shortening for applesauce. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Would be a good breakfast cookie. Next time I make it I will try half whole wheat flour, 1/4 of shortening for apple sauce, raisins, and more spices! My 17 month old son loved these and they are more healthy than the other cookies I have made. UPDATE: I make these whenever I have a leftover brown banana. I use the apple sauce, butter instead of shortening, lots of raisins, sometimes I even add chopped dried apple .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2003
These turned out very good when I first made them. My husband even complimented them, which is saying a lot! I used 2 bananas since I had four that were getting too ripe, and the batter seemed a little dry with only one. I also added raisins and pecans to half of the batch and prefered those to the plain ones. We didn't finish eating these, though - after the first day, they were too soft and cakelike for our taste. I probably won't repeat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Turned out perfect the first time, and tasted great! I added some raisins and an extra banana as they were a bit small. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ida vB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These cookies were a hit! Very soft and cake-like with that yummy banana bread flavor! I increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp, added a splash of vanilla, and added 1/4 tsp pumpkin spice but it's not necessary -- just preference. The trick is to spread out your spoonful of dough with the spoon after dropping onto the cookie sheet b/c it won't flatten out much by itself while baking. That way, you get a finished result that looks like a cookie instead of a glob of baked dough. Thank you for the recipe! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
An extremely good oatmeal cookie. Moist. Batter goes a long way. I found I needed to lower the temperature to 375
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LillysMom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States