Spicy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2007
At first glance when these came out of the oven, I was concerned that these would be dry and hard. They turned out to be moist in the middle and slightly crisp on the outside. Not the best looking cookie, but very tasty. I'll be adding these to our regular cookie jar repetoire.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2007
Everyone loves these cookies. My husband says it's one of his favorites that I make. Thanks Sue. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2006
Fantastic Cookies! I followed the advice made by others and it made it for a great batch cookies. I will definitely make them again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2006
This is not your typical oatmeal cookie. The banana really throws off the taste. Sorry, would not make again, no one would eat them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2006
This recipe goes from "pretty good" to "absolutely phenomenal" with a few simple changes. 1. Extra spices - I used 1 tsp cinnamon, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, 1/4 tsp pumpkin pie spice. 2. An extra banana. 3. Nuts (I used walnuts) and raisins. Those are probably the 3 most important changes I made, but I also used 1/2 white and 1/2 whole wheat flour and used 50% lighter butter instead of shortening. Oh, and added a capful of vanilla extract. These are absolutely to die for!!! Also used only 3/4 c. sugar, 1/4 c. of which was actually Splenda...still found them very sweet and didn't notice the splenda.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2006
I made these favorite cookies for gifts. Everyone loved them so much they want me to make them every week. I didn't have any nutmeg so I used ginger instead. It worked just fine. Keep 'em coming ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2004
These cookies are delicious with the banana in them. While I liked that added flavor, I still like my oatmeal cookies to taste like oatmeal cookies; not mini banana bread slices. They were very tasty and moist, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MTRoth

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
Cookies have a nice flavor....but they came out on the dry side. I thought maybe I had not followed the recipe correctly - but I had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2004
IT'S A GOOD COOKIE... DAD LOVED EM.. BUT I AM STICKIN WITH BETH'S SPICY OATMEAL RAISIN COOKIES... THOSE ARE THE ABSOLUTE BEST EVER!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abby Zeek

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pemberville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Haskins, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2004
I love this recipe!!! I now seem to overbuy bananas at the store so I'll have brown ones left to make these cookies. I use 2 bananas instead of 1 and use whole wheat flour, they are gobbled right up every time. Also wonderful with chocolate chips added!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States