Spicy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2010
I just made this recipe today and they are great! I split my batch and made half with chocolate chips and half with peanut butter chips. I made a few testers first with no chips added as well. My boyfriend likes the chocolate ones but I actually prefer the ones with nothing added. They are excellent cookies just as is. They are like mini, light, moist banana breads, so good! The peanutbutter chip ones were good too if you like pb and banana.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2010
These cookies are splendid! I used whole wheat flour, and added some wheat germ and flax seeds. They were slightly dry, so I added a few tablespoons of water to the dough. I suggest to flatten them before putting them in the oven. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2010
Turned out perfect the first time, and tasted great! I added some raisins and an extra banana as they were a bit small. will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ida vB

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Copenhagen, Hovedstaden, Denmark

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2010
best hot out of the oven made less fattening by subsituting 1/2 cup of shortening for applesauce. yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2010
So so good! I didn't have nutmeg so i used ground cloves and added some vanilla extract. i only made 12 but next time, i'm definitely making 36!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Medford, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 8, 2010
i need to try this recipe again before i really rate it with stars. i read reviews and tried using this recipe in an altered state and i made cakies not cookies. i doubled the spices which was good i doubled the banana and egg and they are very cake like, they taste more like banana bread then cookies this way. i substituted splenda and that always works out well. i also split the splenda with brown sugar and not sure how that worked since i made the batter very cake like. so the two star is really my bad not the recipe and i will try this recipe again and re-review it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Would be a good breakfast cookie. Next time I make it I will try half whole wheat flour, 1/4 of shortening for apple sauce, raisins, and more spices! My 17 month old son loved these and they are more healthy than the other cookies I have made. UPDATE: I make these whenever I have a leftover brown banana. I use the apple sauce, butter instead of shortening, lots of raisins, sometimes I even add chopped dried apple .
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Chesapeake, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
These were great cookies! I adjusted somethings for my taste. I used 1 cup of wheat flour and 1/2 cup white, and I used 1/2 brown and 1/2 white sugar. I also doubled the spices, egg, and banana. I felt the dough would need extra moisture b/c of the wheat flour. In half of the cookies I added about 1/2 cup of raisins. Walnuts (If I had some) would have been awesome too. These are going to be a great breakfast cookie. I'm also wondering how it would be with carrot puree added. May try that next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by I Love Troy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TTV78
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
These cookies were a hit! Very soft and cake-like with that yummy banana bread flavor! I increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp, added a splash of vanilla, and added 1/4 tsp pumpkin spice but it's not necessary -- just preference. The trick is to spread out your spoonful of dough with the spoon after dropping onto the cookie sheet b/c it won't flatten out much by itself while baking. That way, you get a finished result that looks like a cookie instead of a glob of baked dough. Thank you for the recipe! Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TTV78

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Milpitas, California, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2009
I liked this recipe, it was easy and quick to put together and fairly simple. I mixed it in my food processor as I do whenever I find a recipe that requires butter or shortening be "cut in". Although, it seemed they cooked very quickly and the first pan were way too dark and I didn't overcook according to the 8-10 minutes. I removed the other cookies from the oven much earlier than the first ones. The banana in the recipe is unique. I did add vanilla extract although the recipe didn't call for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KathleenO

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Centennial, Colorado, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States