Spicy Oatmeal Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2013
These cookies do not last long after they come out of the oven. I have also made this the healthier version by replacing all the oil with applesauce and I increased the applesauce to 1 cup. I add cloves as well. These are soooo good and completely guilt free.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norfolk, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Kent, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
Great recipe! Thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2013
I added walnuts and raisins to above recipe per others' suggestions and the outcome was more about delicious and nutritious mini-banana bread rather than the usual oatmeal cookies. I baked these for my boss who will be having surgery tomorrow. I'd been trying to find something with redeeming qualities and this recipe did. They make great "breakfast cookies". Oh, that reminds me, I substituted my homemade applesauce for 1/3 of the shortening (unsalted butter in my case).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy7905

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2013
Followed some changes by sillysarah. I used 1 tsp. cinnamon, 1/2 tsp. nutmeg, 1/4 tsp pumpkin spice, I used 3/4 white flour 3/4 wheat flour. A capful of vanilla, I used 3/4 cup brown sugar 1/4 cup Splenda added 4 oz applesauce. Had a really good flavor but didn't seem cooked enough. Next batch I flattened & much better
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
These cookies came out great! I followed the basic recipe but used brown sugar instead of white and added raisins and dried fruit. The Banana made the cookie super moist but you can taste the banana. It was very quick and I loved that! This is a great basic recipe to add things and make it your own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2012
I don't know if it was some thing I did or what, but my cookies tasted more like cake patties... I didnt' like this recipe too much at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kimberly

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Largo, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2012
Great way to use up my over-ripe bananas! I used 2 bananas, increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp, and added a splash of vanilla. Next time I will substitute applesauce for the shortening to make them a little healthier.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Baily

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
Tasty little cookies high in fiber and healthy fats. These were gobbled up crazy fast by my gym nut boyfriend! Super easy to make! Great alternative to banana bread for those less-than-ripe bananas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissMorticia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Prescott Valley, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2011
I made mine with shortening as per the instructions and my cookies did not flatten at all. For flat cookies, butter is a must. Anyway, I used two bananas and creamed them with the shortening and sugar. i doubled the spices as well and added an icing sugar glaze (just dipped the rounded cookes into the glaze).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JeanieMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 11, 2011
They were pretty tasty and had a nice texture to them. They were especially great for breakfast. (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make sensational oatmeal peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States