Spicy Mexican Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
This recipe is great. I used turkey sausage to omit some of the fat; turned-out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2001
Actually, this is a very good meal. My grandkids and I are crazy for it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2001
The Spicy Mexican Torte was very easy and tasted wonderful! I used salsa in place of the peppers and chilies. If you don't like it spicy I'm sure plain hamburger would work just as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2002
(Note: I made this with vegetarian chorizo and soy cheese) Excellent taste, very easy to make. A wonderful "meal in itself" dish. Everyone here loved it. Very filling and inexpensive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GrannyGamer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2003
Outstanding! I am going to make this for football games all season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
My very picky husband loved this! Since he does not like red peppers, I instead did that layer with fat free refried black beans and thin slices of tomato. Wonderful in outr opinion. When my brother made this the next time, he added jalapenos instead of the green chilies to make it hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
If your family doesn't like spicy just use ground beef seasoned with salt and a little cumin and omit the chilis and red peppers. Without the peppers I end up using 6 tortillas. I also spread the beans on two tortillas and sprinkled cheese on the beans. My kids do not like beans, but they love this recipe and always clean their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This was GREAT! I used two tortillas on the bottom and only one between the other layers. I probably will only use one on the bottom next time. I also omitted the red pepper, and it turned out just fine. It has a nice "kick" to it, and even my husband liked it (he's very meat and potatos). Next time I might try some Rotel tomatos with chilis mixed in with the chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was fabulous! I only layered one tortilla at a time since they were lo carb and very filling, used two different cheeses, cheddar and hot pepper, and loads of roasted red peppers. This is a new favorite! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I've been looking for this recipe for weeks (I had this a long time ago). Anyway I made this for Cinco de Mayo and it is so good! I used an 8" cake pan with 2" high sides and it fit in there nicely. My store didn't have chorizo, so I used regular sausage and added some crushed red pepper flakes, black pepper and hot sauce to spice it up and it turned out just how I remember-DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States