Spicy Mexican Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 17, 2002
This was good! Pay attention to the instructions since it neglected to tell you about the second layer of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
103 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This was GREAT! I used two tortillas on the bottom and only one between the other layers. I probably will only use one on the bottom next time. I also omitted the red pepper, and it turned out just fine. It has a nice "kick" to it, and even my husband liked it (he's very meat and potatos). Next time I might try some Rotel tomatos with chilis mixed in with the chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2001
This recipe is great. I used turkey sausage to omit some of the fat; turned-out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
35 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by schmerna

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I gave the basic recipe 4 stars, as I always change things as I try them, based on our preferences. Anyhow, I cooked the chorizo with the garlic and onions, then when almost done, I added a can of black beans, drained but not rinsed. After they got a little tender, I then added our own homemade salsa, very spicy and that became my sausage mixture for layering. I also used Mexican "melting cheese" instead of pepper jack and mixed in a little cheddar. Lastly, I fried my tortillas and layed 2 of them out side by side in the bottom of a glass casserole dish, no problem cutting them as others had mentioned. From there I followed the directions for cooking, ended up with three layers, not really "torte" like, but turned out very good, topped it off with a little sour cream, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hofstatter Noftz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I 1st have to give out a shout to "mauigirl" for emailing me this recipe when she found out I was making the "Tweaked Homemade Chorizo"recipe from the site...I totally am glad I made this. It was wonderful. I had a few little bumps in order to stay to a T with this recipe. But it wasn't something I was looking to tweak at all. But it was worth the 4 days I had to wait on the chorizo to try this. It's excellent. My hubby got the wrong size tortillas, and after a suggestion from mauigirl, I did the same as she did. I used a springform cake pan, it was just awesome doing that...note to others: better then a pie plate and more presentable. Layers hold up better and you can easily put thing in evenly. So I had the 12-in tortillas, and I knew the mixes & toppings wouldn't accomendate. So I used the whole batch of the chorizo recipe, increased the onions 1/2 cup, garlic to 4 cloves, cheese by 1 cup more, refried beans 1/2 a can more, and well I didn't have enough roasted red peppers, so I accomendated with 1/2-3/4 cup of mild chunky salsa. It turned out awesome. I could have reduced the amount of tortillas to 4, as my opinion. And I think I'd totally try it with corn tortillas too. hmmm. Thank you. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I have a healthier version from a long ago Family Circle recipe. It's meatless, which is great for going vegetarian. I've been making it for years, and my picky daughter liked it too. Preheat your oven to 374 and heat a bit of olive oil in a cast iron skillet. Chop an onion, add it to the skillet & saute for 5 min or so, add 3/4 C. frozen corn kernels and saute another 5 min. until lightly browned. Then add 1 tsp of dried oregano, 1/4 tsp of ground cumin and a crushed or chopped garlic clove and saute for a minute. Add 2 Tbsn flour and cook 1 min., stirring. Add 1 15 oz can of chopped tomatoes, undrained, 1 can of black beans, drained, & 1 small can of chopped green chilis. Cook 2 min. or until thick. Remove all and place in a bowl. Then cut 6 6" corn tortillas (you can use more if you need them). Spread about half a cup of the bean mixture over the bottom of the skillet, half of the tortillas overlapping if necessary, then half of remaining bean mixture over that, sprinkle w/ a few green onion, sliced and some chopped cilantro if you want. Then place the remaining tortillas and remaining bean mixture. Top w/ 1/4 c corn, 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese & 1/2 tsp paprika. Bake for 30 min. Let stand for 8 or so min. Serve w/sour cream, salsa or whatever you want. Note the only fresh things you put in were the onion & the scallions. Straight from the cabinet & tastes fresh and great! Trust me! I also shred some cabbage,mango & lime juice to serve with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alene Wendrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I've been looking for this recipe for weeks (I had this a long time ago). Anyway I made this for Cinco de Mayo and it is so good! I used an 8" cake pan with 2" high sides and it fit in there nicely. My store didn't have chorizo, so I used regular sausage and added some crushed red pepper flakes, black pepper and hot sauce to spice it up and it turned out just how I remember-DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 12, 2011
Awesome! I made this for dinner last night and my husband and I both loved it! He quickly packed up the leftovers and declared them to be "his lunch for tomorrow". I always try to make a recipe exactly as it's written the first time I make it, but I had to make changes to this one based on what I had on hand and what the other reviewers advised. So here's what I did: Instead of chorizo, I used leftover shredded chicken because that's what I had Used whole wheat tortillas because we always use whole grains Used low fat Mexican blend shredded cheese skipped the red peppers Added a can of corn because we love all "corny" things :) So I used a glass pie pan, sprayed it with PAM. Laid down one tortilla rather than two based on prior reviews, and I'd say they were spot on with that recommendation. Then I put in 1/2 of my chicken mixture, to which I added 1/2 can of enchilada sauce because is just looked like it needed it! Sprinkled with cheese and then laid down the next tortilla and spread that with 1/2 can of beans and sprinkled with cheese. Next tortilla and remainder of chicken and a sprinkle of cheese. Last tortilla and remainder of beans topped with the other 1/2 can of enchilada sauce and then the remaining cheese. I then took a sharp knife and poked holes down through the layers for the enchilada sauce to seep into. Baked at 350 for about 35-40 minutes. It was FABULOUS. We will make this one regularly for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Missouri, USA
Living In: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was fabulous! I only layered one tortilla at a time since they were lo carb and very filling, used two different cheeses, cheddar and hot pepper, and loads of roasted red peppers. This is a new favorite! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I used ground turkey instead of chorizo ...it tasted wonderful but was difficult to cut, next time I will only use 1 tortilla in between each layer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS4FOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States