Spicy Mexican Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2009
First time using Chorizo. We enjoyed it. I would however, enjoy another texture with it. Something with a crunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2008
This was super easy to make. THe only change I made was using 1 tortilla on the bottom and between layers. If you are like my family this recipe serves 3-4 people. Next time I make this I think I will use jalapenos instead of chiles to add a little more kick to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by AMUA212

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA
Living In: Newark, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2007
I made this for a Mexican themed Superbowl potluck. I doubled the recipe and used 2 pie plates. I also followed some of the other users reviews and used only 1 tortilla instead of 2 for each layer. It looked beautiful. I got many compliments at the potluck. Everyone enjoyed this dish and I will definitely be making it again. Oh and for those people who are nervous about the spiciness, it's not too spicy either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2006
This is good and easy to make. I only used one tortilla for the layers and it was fine. My husband thought it would be better with less refried beans but then he's not a big fan of them anyway. I thought it was a perfect amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Naples, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2006
I've been looking for this recipe for weeks (I had this a long time ago). Anyway I made this for Cinco de Mayo and it is so good! I used an 8" cake pan with 2" high sides and it fit in there nicely. My store didn't have chorizo, so I used regular sausage and added some crushed red pepper flakes, black pepper and hot sauce to spice it up and it turned out just how I remember-DELICIOUS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Quakertown, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
This was fabulous! I only layered one tortilla at a time since they were lo carb and very filling, used two different cheeses, cheddar and hot pepper, and loads of roasted red peppers. This is a new favorite! Thank you so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Warren, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2005
This was GREAT! I used two tortillas on the bottom and only one between the other layers. I probably will only use one on the bottom next time. I also omitted the red pepper, and it turned out just fine. It has a nice "kick" to it, and even my husband liked it (he's very meat and potatos). Next time I might try some Rotel tomatos with chilis mixed in with the chorizo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2005
I used ground turkey instead of chorizo ...it tasted wonderful but was difficult to cut, next time I will only use 1 tortilla in between each layer
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHRIS4FOOD

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sarasota, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2005
If your family doesn't like spicy just use ground beef seasoned with salt and a little cumin and omit the chilis and red peppers. Without the peppers I end up using 6 tortillas. I also spread the beans on two tortillas and sprinkled cheese on the beans. My kids do not like beans, but they love this recipe and always clean their plates!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2004
My very picky husband loved this! Since he does not like red peppers, I instead did that layer with fat free refried black beans and thin slices of tomato. Wonderful in outr opinion. When my brother made this the next time, he added jalapenos instead of the green chilies to make it hotter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States