Spicy Mexican Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
I have a healthier version from a long ago Family Circle recipe. It's meatless, which is great for going vegetarian. I've been making it for years, and my picky daughter liked it too. Preheat your oven to 374 and heat a bit of olive oil in a cast iron skillet. Chop an onion, add it to the skillet & saute for 5 min or so, add 3/4 C. frozen corn kernels and saute another 5 min. until lightly browned. Then add 1 tsp of dried oregano, 1/4 tsp of ground cumin and a crushed or chopped garlic clove and saute for a minute. Add 2 Tbsn flour and cook 1 min., stirring. Add 1 15 oz can of chopped tomatoes, undrained, 1 can of black beans, drained, & 1 small can of chopped green chilis. Cook 2 min. or until thick. Remove all and place in a bowl. Then cut 6 6" corn tortillas (you can use more if you need them). Spread about half a cup of the bean mixture over the bottom of the skillet, half of the tortillas overlapping if necessary, then half of remaining bean mixture over that, sprinkle w/ a few green onion, sliced and some chopped cilantro if you want. Then place the remaining tortillas and remaining bean mixture. Top w/ 1/4 c corn, 1/2 cup shredded cheddar cheese & 1/2 tsp paprika. Bake for 30 min. Let stand for 8 or so min. Serve w/sour cream, salsa or whatever you want. Note the only fresh things you put in were the onion & the scallions. Straight from the cabinet & tastes fresh and great! Trust me! I also shred some cabbage,mango & lime juice to serve with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alene Wendrow

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2011
Ooooh, put cheese between each duo of tortillas, would hold them together and it would be yummier
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by mis7up
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2011
I 1st have to give out a shout to "mauigirl" for emailing me this recipe when she found out I was making the "Tweaked Homemade Chorizo"recipe from the site...I totally am glad I made this. It was wonderful. I had a few little bumps in order to stay to a T with this recipe. But it wasn't something I was looking to tweak at all. But it was worth the 4 days I had to wait on the chorizo to try this. It's excellent. My hubby got the wrong size tortillas, and after a suggestion from mauigirl, I did the same as she did. I used a springform cake pan, it was just awesome doing that...note to others: better then a pie plate and more presentable. Layers hold up better and you can easily put thing in evenly. So I had the 12-in tortillas, and I knew the mixes & toppings wouldn't accomendate. So I used the whole batch of the chorizo recipe, increased the onions 1/2 cup, garlic to 4 cloves, cheese by 1 cup more, refried beans 1/2 a can more, and well I didn't have enough roasted red peppers, so I accomendated with 1/2-3/4 cup of mild chunky salsa. It turned out awesome. I could have reduced the amount of tortillas to 4, as my opinion. And I think I'd totally try it with corn tortillas too. hmmm. Thank you. It was fabulous.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mis7up

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burkburnett, Texas, USA
Living In: Cave Junction, Oregon, USA
Photo by mauigirl
Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2011
We loved this. I made it for breakfast and served it with two over easy eggs and salsa. I also used my own refried beans. Had no roasted pepper, but it was great without it. YUMMY! UPDATE.....I use a springform pan to accomodate the size of the tortilla I have on hand and It also holds together better. I do use the double layers of tortillas as directed. I have done this with ground turkey or ground turkey seasoned with taco seasoning. I do not do the roasted red peppers cuz I think it doesn't need it. The canned mild green chilis are important though and for those who think they might be hot, they are NOT. Just a nice flavor. I serve this with sliced black olives, Sliced green onions, sour cream and salsa. ONO BTW I make this with the refried beans without the refry from this site. They are way better than canned beans and so easy to make in your slow cooker.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mauigirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Olympia, Washington, USA
Living In: Lahaina, Hawaii, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 14, 2011
Loved it. I made smaller individual tortillas, building each on a salad plate, then baking for less time (20 minutes covered). Put the hot salad plates on non-hot dinner plates to serve so no one gets burned. The last 10-15 minutes without cover is important to brown the cheese. I will make this again and it's easy to make your own tweaks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPARKS

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Woodinville, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
Made this for dinner yesterday, we both loved it. Followed the recipie, except used only one tortilla as others mentioned. will make it again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2010
I don't know how this was supposed to fit in a 10 inch pie plate. I put mine in a 9x13 and I couldn't even fit it all in there.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2010
Easy and delicious! I used 8 inch tortillas without any problems. 2 tortillas on the bottom, 1 between the meat and beans, then 2 between beans and red peppers (both under peppers & over), 1 between beans and topping of meat & cheese. Mine just fit into the pie pan! Not hard to cut. I used spicy chipotle refried beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
Very good! I did add a pound of shrimp to the chorizo mixture when it was just about cooked. I will save this recipe and make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2009
I gave the basic recipe 4 stars, as I always change things as I try them, based on our preferences. Anyhow, I cooked the chorizo with the garlic and onions, then when almost done, I added a can of black beans, drained but not rinsed. After they got a little tender, I then added our own homemade salsa, very spicy and that became my sausage mixture for layering. I also used Mexican "melting cheese" instead of pepper jack and mixed in a little cheddar. Lastly, I fried my tortillas and layed 2 of them out side by side in the bottom of a glass casserole dish, no problem cutting them as others had mentioned. From there I followed the directions for cooking, ended up with three layers, not really "torte" like, but turned out very good, topped it off with a little sour cream, we loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Robin Hofstatter Noftz

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Sandusky, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States