Spicy Mexican Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2011
I made this AGAIN last night. This is down right delicious! Only thing I changed...I sprinkled a little cheese in the layer where the peppers are to keep it from sliding off while eating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Annsara60
Home Town: Newport, Rhode Island, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Very tasty. Just a touch to salty for my liking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 25, 2011
I think I expected too much with this. It was just so-so with me. It was way too over-done on the bottom and it didn't have a lot of flavor. Also, it didn't tell you what to do with the other half of the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2011
Is absolutely delicious, has such wonderful blend of very define ingredients you cannot no enjoy it! Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
Well before making this I knew ahead of time I'd have to make some adjustments... so I can't really give a true rating for this exact recipe. I substituted 1 lb. hamburger for the sausage, used Colby/Jack cheese, and omitted the roasted red peppers all together. (my kids and I don't do spicy too well). With that being done, I seasoned the hamburger with about 1/2 tsp ground cumin, to give it some flavor (in addition to the onion and garlic). When I went to layer everything, I realized that my pie pan (even though it's deep dish) wasn't tall enough for that many tortillas or layers... so I minimized it. One daughter liked it, the other didn't, my husband ate it but didn't want to save the left overs (good indication not to make it again), and I thought it was just 'ok'. It's not a bad recipe, I'd make it again, but not too often, maybe just once in a while for something different than taco night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by soldiersgirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Photo by Jerry V.
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
As soon as I read this recipe I knew I had to try it. Problem is...it’s mid-summer and I really didn’t want to use the oven in the kitchen. I assembled the torte in a cast iron skillet and baked it outside on the gas grill! My only mistake was I should have not used the burners directly under the skillet...it got a bid charred. But, since it’s in layers, we just didn’t eat the bottom layer and the burnt flavor did not permeate the rest of the torte. I’m going to try it this way again...just adjust my cooking method. I've since made this a second time using two tortillas on the bottom only one tortilla between each layer. It's much better this way and less "doughy." Also baked it in a regular over.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Reading, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2011
My husband and I loved this recipe. I did change it up a little though. First, I browned hamburger meat (instead of the sausage). I added the roasted peppers to the chile meat mixture. I had only one layer of beans so overall I had only 3 layers but it was great! I think using fewer layers and less tortillas cuts out a lot of calories.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
This was great and my kids loved it. I used a mixture of chorizo and ground turkey and added taco seasonings with the meat onions and garlic. I did not use the green chili's because i did not have them but added a medium salsa. i also did not add the roasted red peppers. I used a combination of cheddar, Colby jack and Quaso cheese. I also only used single layers of tortillas and used a spring form pan. Looked great and tasted awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Absolutely wonderful, but I used fresh jalapenos, and topped it with shredded lettuce, yogurt and sliced tomatoes. Everyone had seconds!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Excellant!!! I added corn as others suggested. I used 2 tortilla shells on the bottom one in the middle and 2 on top. This is a keeper!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States