Spicy Mexican Torte Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2014
This was really really good! I did make just a few slight changes. I was worried about the tortillas getting hard on the bottom layer so I used a few spoons full of salsa then used 2 tortillas. I layered the meat mix minus the green chilis, just one tortilla, half the beans and some cheese, a layer of green chilis rather than red sprinkled with garlic salt, another tortilla, the remainder of the beans and chorizo mix. Nothing huge changed just cut back on the amount of tortillas mostly. Family enjoyed it will be something I make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ladybuggs5224

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 5, 2012
Awesome, Awesome, Awesome - What a yummy meal that is quite filling. I omitted the roasted red peppers since I didn't have any and used corn tortillas instead of flour. Note: I only used 1 tortilla per layer and instead of the torte I made this more like a casserole layered in a casserole pan. I also added roasted corn to the layers and for the last 10 minutes of the bake I added a homemade enchilada sauce with green chilis and tomatoes. To serve I topped these off with sour cream, black olives and guacamole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2012
I made the following alterations to make it more to my tastes: used corn tortillas instead of flour, used Chihuahua cheese instead of pepper jack, and omitted the green & red peppers (I just mixed a can of Rotel in with the cooked chorizo instead). I did three layers - first chorizo mixture & cheese, then beans, then chorizo mixture & cheese. I cooked it in my cast iron combo cooker and it turned out great. What I really loved about the corn tortillas was that they didn't get soggy and the bottom ones crisped up a lot, which added some great texture. If you have a Mexican grocer near you, buy house-made chorizo. The quality is far superior to the pre-packaged stuff you can buy at the store (and it's much less greasy).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2011
This was just Delish! Earlier in the day, I had made home made salsa and put a layer of that down first. I used 2 layers of flour tortillas and in between I put shredded sharp cheese. I mixed the chorizo with the beans and layered it all the way up the casserole pan. I popped it in the nuker for 10 minutes and dinner was Done! The family Was skeptical when I told them what it was. After one bite, they were hooked! Super Yummy! I will keep this one around for Sure! Thanks Tsfoust!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Patty Cakes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA
Living In: Long Beach, California, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2011
Overall, very tasty & spicy! I had to modify this recipe a bit b/c i didn't have a 10" pie pan. I had a 9". That didn't make a HUGE difference, but I thought the ingredient amounts were WAY to much for even a 10". With these quantities, I believe you could get away with making 2 tortes (using 2 pie plates). OR you could halve the recipe. I only made one torte but I definitely had leftover sausage mixture. Because of my pie plate size limitations, I could not use 2 tortillas on EVERY layer. Instead I only used 2 on the bottom, which I figured needed to be sturdy. If you are making 2, I would do it like this: Line (2) 9 or 10" pie plates with 2 tortillas Sprinkle sausage mix on tortillas Sprinkle cheese over sausage mix Cover w/ a tortilla Spread refried beans over the tortilla Cover w/ a tortilla Put 6oz of roasted red peppers on tortilla Place another tortilla on top. If you have any sausage mix left, then top w/ that and more cheese or just top w/ a little cheese. * I only made 1 torte and I used 1/2 pound chorizo combined with 1/2 pound ground beef and I still have a little over a cup of the mixture left, so you could definitely halve this recipe if you are only using one pie pan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2011
If you follow it as written the charizo completely over powers all the other flavors and is very salty; using the two tortillas with each layer makes it really hard to cut. My family and I love Mexican food but this was a no keeper unless it was drastically altered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was very good. I used monterey jack cheese instead of the pepper jack. I didn't understand dividing the beans. There was no further directions with the other half of beans so I used the whole can instead of dividing it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarnspice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Powhatan, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This was excellent, but the roasted red peppers got to go. husband would not eat because hot stuff causes problems. The rest of us enjoyed it, but had to drink water with every bite. (We are out of milk which I know helps more)I like med. spicy and had no idea those canned peppers were that strong. I will tweak it next time to bring down the burn so we can all eat. the recipe was easy and quick so still gave it a five because of that and tasted wonderful, plus frugal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvacook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Walla Walla, Washington, USA
Living In: Springfield, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2011
This was sooo good! Instead of onion and green chiles I used a can of Rotel, omitted the red peppers, and added fresh cilantro and cumin. YUM!! My family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2011
I added black olives
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 58) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Spicy Mediterranean Chicken

Chicken thighs combine with classic flavors of the Mediterranean.

Quick and Easy Mexican Chicken

Seasoned chicken is topped with salsa and cheese and baked to bubbly.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States