Spicy Mexican Style Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Absolutely loved this recipe. I used two cups of rice and two cans of black beans. It was a huge hit. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I simplified the recipe a little and found it to be delicious as a burrito filling and we got about 5 dinner servings out of it. I threw in a little fresh garlic instead of the powdered, and used four yellow summer squash and 2 zucchini, and added two chopped green peppers before baking. I cooked a half cup of raw rice, and threw in all that it produced when cooked. I also drained one can of pinto beans and threw them all in. I used about 4 oz of salsa as we're not big on spicy and we had a half empty jar in the fridge so I threw that in :-) I also mixed in the cup of cheese but omitted any on top. This is a really good base recipe so feel free to simplify or alter as I did, the results are great. Results from 2nd attempt: used five zucchini, skipped onion, cooked up what was left in a couple bags of beans--recipe is so adaptable. Skip the tsp cayenne, though, it was too hot for us (w/only ~2Tbl homemade salsa!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
We substituded black beans for the pinto and I didn't have paprika in the house and this recipe still came out delicious. We used Sargento's 4 cheese mexican mix and the whole thing was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygrl4evr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Boyfriend really liked, but I thgouth it was alright, which surprised me since it has a BBQ flavor and he is vegetarian and typically does not like the taste/smell/thought of BBQ sauce. Will make again, but may modify just a little. Served on chili tortilla wraps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Good recipe. Made exactly as recipe stated.....needed something else. Next night added some chicken to the leftovers and much better. If I make it again, will add chicken again and a little more of the spices a little bland for my family. All in all a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This dish earned rave reviews from both my husband and myself! The only tweaks I made were to cut the cayenne pepper to 1/2 teaspoon and to not put the extra cheese on top of the casserole. Also, we assembled the dish over the weekend, refrigerated, then heated in the oven during the week. I found I had to double the oven time to 40 minutes with the dish being so cold to start with -- so just keep that in mind if you use this approach too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2008
This was fairly tasty but a very heavy meal which is not so much my style. I prefer something a little lighter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CRISPYSTUFF

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I made this for 3 adults tonight, and all of us loved it. I'll definitely make it again. I used 3/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper and red beans instead of pinto beans, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Spicy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Yum!! Used noodles instead of rice though. Loved it! I used half zucchini and half yellow squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe was alright. I made a few changes...I left out the oregano and used black beans instead of pinto beans (that's what I had on hand). Also, I added about 1 1/2 tablespoons of chipotle hot sauce to the salsa and it added some flavour and heat. Not sure if I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 61-70 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Easy Mexican Casserole

See how to make an easy, tasty Mexican casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States