Spicy Mexican Style Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
The flavor was great but there was way too much zucchini. I will make it again but with half the zucchini and a bit more spice. Maybe this was mean as a side dish instead of a main.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cricrinapoli

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Newington, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Newry, County Down, Northern Ireland, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
This is a great recipe!!!! I uncovered the dish for the last 10 minutes of baking until the cheese on top was medium brown! Yummy! And used tortilla chips for dipping!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2009
Wonderful flavors!! I did add 1 lb of ground beef cooked and drained. And one more cup of beans. Plus we don't like real hot so I only added 1/2 tsp. of cayenne pepper and it was still enough spice, but we could handle it. Thanks for sharing. I had to use some of our zucchini left from our garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Loves2cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2009
This was quite good. I would probably make it again when I have an over abundance of zucchini. I used minced garlic, (three cloves), and just plain salt. We liked this served over crushed tortilla chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellydancer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Traverse City, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2009
This was pretty good. I used 3 medium zucchinis. I added 1 teaspoon salt and 1 teaspoon fresh mined garlic to the zucchini and onions while it sauteed. I also added 1 teaspoon ground cumin an extra cup of rice, and used black beans instead of pinto. I also decreased the cayenne to 1/4 teaspoon. I think this would be great as a burrito/taco filling (with a little sour cream, etc.). Overall, not bad. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sarah

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chaska, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Prior Lake, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
This is a great dish! It will be a regular in my house now!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2009
Absolutely loved this recipe. I used two cups of rice and two cans of black beans. It was a huge hit. Yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2009
I simplified the recipe a little and found it to be delicious as a burrito filling and we got about 5 dinner servings out of it. I threw in a little fresh garlic instead of the powdered, and used four yellow summer squash and 2 zucchini, and added two chopped green peppers before baking. I cooked a half cup of raw rice, and threw in all that it produced when cooked. I also drained one can of pinto beans and threw them all in. I used about 4 oz of salsa as we're not big on spicy and we had a half empty jar in the fridge so I threw that in :-) I also mixed in the cup of cheese but omitted any on top. This is a really good base recipe so feel free to simplify or alter as I did, the results are great. Results from 2nd attempt: used five zucchini, skipped onion, cooked up what was left in a couple bags of beans--recipe is so adaptable. Skip the tsp cayenne, though, it was too hot for us (w/only ~2Tbl homemade salsa!).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 29, 2009
We substituded black beans for the pinto and I didn't have paprika in the house and this recipe still came out delicious. We used Sargento's 4 cheese mexican mix and the whole thing was gone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nygrl4evr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
Boyfriend really liked, but I thgouth it was alright, which surprised me since it has a BBQ flavor and he is vegetarian and typically does not like the taste/smell/thought of BBQ sauce. Will make again, but may modify just a little. Served on chili tortilla wraps
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JADE1977

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States