Spicy Mexican Style Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2011
Made with quinoa instead of rice. Used less cheese and salsa. Thought what I ended up with was amazing. Thanks for the jumping off point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2011
We love this one. I use black beans and brown rice and fat free cheddar cheese and it turns out GREAT! I use it a lot for our Weight Watchers program.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2011
For people who want that nice hot spicy flavor, use canned chipotle peppers in adobo sauce. The adobo sauce gives it a nice smoky spicy mexican flavor. Even if you don't like it hot, the adobo sauce itself is a good addition. I used 3 peppers (deseeded) and 1T adobo sauce and it was very hot (for a person who likes moderate spice to their food).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Fantastic! Hubby's new favorite casserole! Made just like the recipe says except used 2 cans of rotel in place of the salsa-I was almost out of salsa. We like really spicy food and this was perfect! I cut up and cooked 11 batches of zucchini and froze it so hubby can have this all winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This wasn't bad, but it wasn't what I consider good either. Pros: cheap, easy, and makes a ton. Cons: shockingly bland and flavorless. I might try again this summer when zucchini are overflowing, but I'll add fresh garlic, up the spices, and add something. Cumin? Lime? Cilantro?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This dish was so good. I'm doing low carb right now so this was great for that application. I did change/add a few things that I think made is spectacular. I browned 1 lb of chorizo with the onion and then browned the zucchini. I used a can each of pinto and black beans and added about a cup of velveta and a cup of shredded pepper jack cheese. Made this for a party and it was a lot so thought I would have leftovers for the week......Nope. Not a chance. They raved and it was almost all gone, maybe one serving left. This is definitely in my line up of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWERDANNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I do change this a bit but I love that it's a Mexican casserole that isn't as heavy as others. I switch out 1 pound of zucchini for 1 pound of ground turkey so my husband feels it's more of a meal. I season liberally with Tony Chachere's creole seasoning. I use a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles (Ro-Tel) instead of salsa. Leftovers are very good wrapped in tortillas, though I would like a bit more rice & beans when served that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is really good! DH HATES beans (says they taste like dirt) but I added a can of garbanzo beans so they would blend in with the egg noodles (didn't have rice). I also topped it with sour cream. He loved it! I knew I could change his mind. Thank you Leah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
We loved this! I made it exactly as written. Next time I may add some fresh jalapenos for a little extra kick. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Awesome recipe. We have tried it as written and then out diets changed to a fat free vegan diet so the next time we left out the olive oil and cheese. It was still awesome. The leftovers are perfect in a tortilla with lettuce, avocado and bell peppers a squeeze if lime is good addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 74) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Casserole

Quick dinner idea for Cinco de Mayo or any day you are craving Mexican food.

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States