Spicy Mexican Style Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2014
Awesome meal! If you like a tasty but not overly spicy meal then my husband and I recommend using mild salsa and only an 1/8 of the hot pepper. It was so good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2014
This recipe is good. We ate it with tortillas, sour cream, extra salsa, cheese, lettuce & tomato. I forgot to add the oregano which I will remember to add next time I make it. I didn't add as much cheese either. I felt like it was missing a little something but I will be making it again :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2014
This is such a great recipe and has become a staple in our dinner rotation! I make this almost exactly like the recipe describes. My only changes are using about 2.25 lbs of zucchini instead of the full 3 lbs, using a can of pinto beans which ends up being slightly more than the recipe calls for, and about a cup and a half of cooked white rice. I also added shredded chicken once and it was good too, but really not necessary. DH says this is the one entree I make that he is okay with not having some form of meat in it. It is delicious and very satisfying. An AllRecipes favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ann Marie Natal
Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2014
This is a cheesy and spicy casserole which contains zucchini, onion, garlic, rice, pinto beans, salsa, cheddar, and spices. I slightly adjusted some of the ingredients to get the desired portion size. If you are very sensitive to heat, I suggest lowering the amount of cayenne pepper used. Guacamole, sour cream, and tomato garnishes really help to tie the flavors in this dish together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ann Marie Natal

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2014
This dish was very tasty. I used jalapeño ranch style beans and Central Market salsa. I added ground turkey and left out the rice. My husband said I should make it often. It will be part of my monthly rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Agawam, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Driftwood, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2013
this turned out really good.. made this for bf and bf's daughter.. she doesn't like spicy so i used mild salsa and left out the cayenne.. super quick and easy and they both liked it a lot.. used cannellini beans instead of pinto and maybe a little more cheese for the topping.. thank you so much for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Arcadia, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 14, 2013
This was great! I think the only thing it was missing was more veggie's, and I also used mozzerella! Good stuff.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2013
I made this recipe as is except i added one green and red pepper. I also used about 2 lbs. of zucchini instead of 3 lbs. I omitted the oregano and used 1 cup brown rice instead of long grain. It was good but a little spicy for my husband I love spice so it was perfect. I also didn't cover it while cooking and it was fine. I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jackie Harroll

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2012
WOW! I thought this would be a great way to use some extra zucchini, but it turned out to be a new family favorite
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
Me and my boyfriend loved this. Did not use paprika or oregano because I did not have it. The first time I used the 2.5 cups of salsa, but thought it was a little too much. The second time, I used a little under two cups and thought it was much better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 70) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States