Spicy Mexican Style Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2007
Great jumping off point, but I made a few changes. Instead of garlic salt, I used fresh minced garlic. While cooking, I used salt and pepper to release some of the zucchini and onions natural juices. I also cut the oil down from 2 T. to 1 T. I didn't have pinto beans, but garbanzo beans and I only put cheese on the top. We devoured the entire casserole and it was a great way to use up some of my garden's zucchini. Thank you for a tasty recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Warwick, New York, USA
Living In: Boston, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2007
Delicious! I used fresh garlic instead of garlic salt. Also, I think the next time I make this, I'll wrap it up in tortillas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2007
This recipe was alright. I made a few changes...I left out the oregano and used black beans instead of pinto beans (that's what I had on hand). Also, I added about 1 1/2 tablespoons of chipotle hot sauce to the salsa and it added some flavour and heat. Not sure if I'd make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BRUNOSBETH

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2007
I made this after a friend sent me the recipe. I added 1 lb of ground turkey to make it meaty for my fiancee and a smidge of Velveeta that was leftover from another recipe. It was wonderful!!! We ate it over Fritos and used the leftovers for burritos the next day. Perfect Fall food! Yum! Yum! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This dish earned rave reviews from both my husband and myself! The only tweaks I made were to cut the cayenne pepper to 1/2 teaspoon and to not put the extra cheese on top of the casserole. Also, we assembled the dish over the weekend, refrigerated, then heated in the oven during the week. I found I had to double the oven time to 40 minutes with the dish being so cold to start with -- so just keep that in mind if you use this approach too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
We loved this! I made it exactly as written. Next time I may add some fresh jalapenos for a little extra kick. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2008
Good recipe. Made exactly as recipe stated.....needed something else. Next night added some chicken to the leftovers and much better. If I make it again, will add chicken again and a little more of the spices a little bland for my family. All in all a good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2008
Absolutely delicious! I made this for 3 adults tonight, and all of us loved it. I'll definitely make it again. I used 3/4 tsp. of cayenne pepper and red beans instead of pinto beans, but otherwise I followed the recipe exactly. Spicy and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
Yum!! Used noodles instead of rice though. Loved it! I used half zucchini and half yellow squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lakewood, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This dish was so good. I'm doing low carb right now so this was great for that application. I did change/add a few things that I think made is spectacular. I browned 1 lb of chorizo with the onion and then browned the zucchini. I used a can each of pinto and black beans and added about a cup of velveta and a cup of shredded pepper jack cheese. Made this for a party and it was a lot so thought I would have leftovers for the week......Nope. Not a chance. They raved and it was almost all gone, maybe one serving left. This is definitely in my line up of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWERDANNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States