Spicy Mexican Style Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I do change this a bit but I love that it's a Mexican casserole that isn't as heavy as others. I switch out 1 pound of zucchini for 1 pound of ground turkey so my husband feels it's more of a meal. I season liberally with Tony Chachere's creole seasoning. I use a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles (Ro-Tel) instead of salsa. Leftovers are very good wrapped in tortillas, though I would like a bit more rice & beans when served that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is really good! DH HATES beans (says they taste like dirt) but I added a can of garbanzo beans so they would blend in with the egg noodles (didn't have rice). I also topped it with sour cream. He loved it! I knew I could change his mind. Thank you Leah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
We loved this! I made it exactly as written. Next time I may add some fresh jalapenos for a little extra kick. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Awesome recipe. We have tried it as written and then out diets changed to a fat free vegan diet so the next time we left out the olive oil and cheese. It was still awesome. The leftovers are perfect in a tortilla with lettuce, avocado and bell peppers a squeeze if lime is good addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was fantastic. I only added Lean ground turkey. My kids even has seconds. This will be made again, and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krayzie4him

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Super easy and very good! We replaced the rice with quinoa, used soya beans, added a bit of ground sausage and only put the cheese on top. Will for sure use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very good. I used MJ cheese, 1 can of chili beans and 1 Cup (or more) cooked shredded chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
I give this a 4.5 star rating but my husband absolutely loved it so it earns a 5. I used half the cayenne, added three diced chicken thighs and served with both flour tortillas and tortilla chips. My husband is still raving about it - good thing, too, because it made a LOT. We both agree that corn would be good in it. I made the whole thing in an oven-proof skillet and saved a little on clean up time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
This was delicious! I didn't change anything when I made it, and it was full of flavor and had an awesome spice. Gotta try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
i used whole grain rice, also added browned turkey burger along with orange and red sweet bell peppers, tomatoes and fresh sweet corn cut off the cob.....delicious!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 68) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States