Spicy Mexican Style Zucchini Casserole Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2011
Fantastic! Hubby's new favorite casserole! Made just like the recipe says except used 2 cans of rotel in place of the salsa-I was almost out of salsa. We like really spicy food and this was perfect! I cut up and cooked 11 batches of zucchini and froze it so hubby can have this all winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2011
This wasn't bad, but it wasn't what I consider good either. Pros: cheap, easy, and makes a ton. Cons: shockingly bland and flavorless. I might try again this summer when zucchini are overflowing, but I'll add fresh garlic, up the spices, and add something. Cumin? Lime? Cilantro?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2011
This dish was so good. I'm doing low carb right now so this was great for that application. I did change/add a few things that I think made is spectacular. I browned 1 lb of chorizo with the onion and then browned the zucchini. I used a can each of pinto and black beans and added about a cup of velveta and a cup of shredded pepper jack cheese. Made this for a party and it was a lot so thought I would have leftovers for the week......Nope. Not a chance. They raved and it was almost all gone, maybe one serving left. This is definitely in my line up of favorites.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FLOWERDANNI

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: La Crescenta, California, USA
Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2011
I do change this a bit but I love that it's a Mexican casserole that isn't as heavy as others. I switch out 1 pound of zucchini for 1 pound of ground turkey so my husband feels it's more of a meal. I season liberally with Tony Chachere's creole seasoning. I use a can of diced tomatoes with green chiles (Ro-Tel) instead of salsa. Leftovers are very good wrapped in tortillas, though I would like a bit more rice & beans when served that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2011
This is really good! DH HATES beans (says they taste like dirt) but I added a can of garbanzo beans so they would blend in with the egg noodles (didn't have rice). I also topped it with sour cream. He loved it! I knew I could change his mind. Thank you Leah.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
We loved this! I made it exactly as written. Next time I may add some fresh jalapenos for a little extra kick. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CNM CATERING

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Edgewater Park, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
Awesome recipe. We have tried it as written and then out diets changed to a fat free vegan diet so the next time we left out the olive oil and cheese. It was still awesome. The leftovers are perfect in a tortilla with lettuce, avocado and bell peppers a squeeze if lime is good addition as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hamilton, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
This was fantastic. I only added Lean ground turkey. My kids even has seconds. This will be made again, and again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krayzie4him

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Super easy and very good! We replaced the rice with quinoa, used soya beans, added a bit of ground sausage and only put the cheese on top. Will for sure use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 24, 2010
Very good. I used MJ cheese, 1 can of chili beans and 1 Cup (or more) cooked shredded chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Carrot Zucchini Vegetable Casserole

Sliced vegetables bake with a creamy, cheesy sauce and crunchy bread-crumb top.

Zucchini and Ricotta Casserole

See how to make a simple roasted zucchini casserole.

Connie's Zucchini "Crab" Cakes

Discover the secret that makes these crabless cakes taste like the real deal.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States