Spicy Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Hello everyone. I am so glad you like my recipe. Some people were wondering why I called it spicy, my recipe was edited by the owners of this web site and they put corn chips down instead of spicy Fritos. You can also use chili cheese Fritos in this recipe if you can't find the hot and spicy Fritos. Another option is to get black beans with jalepeno peppers added, it gives the salad an extra kick. Also, make sure to add the Fritos last, since they will get soggy if they sit in the salad too long -Taseia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2002
This was really good! I used leaf lettuce rather than Romaine, garbanzos rather than pintos. I also added chopped black olives, chopped red onion, chopped scallions and a bit of cilantro. Don't be afraid to adapt this recipe to what you have on hand. It works really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
49 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This was a huge hit at the cinco de mayo party!!! Thanks for the tip about using hot-n-spicy fritos! I also made a dressing by mixing 1 cup of ranch with ine cup of salsa (because I can't find any spicy ranch in my area) it was awesome! Also added some red onion, black olives, and shoepeg corn. A total delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2002
Excellent!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Vallejo, California, USA
Living In: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
My best friend asked us over for Chili last night and I took this salad. It was a humongous hit! Everyone had at least two servings and there was very little left over despite the fact that I doubled the recipe for our party of six. I did add some black olives and an avacado to it. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2003
Great, easy supper fast meal. We use Ranch rather than catalina dressing just because we like it better. I don't add the tortilla chips to the bowl, they get too soggy if there are leftovers. Just place some on a plate and add the salad mix.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: D'iberville, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
To add more protein, I added a half pound of cooked ground beef that I seasoned with homemade taco seasoning. I ate mine sans corn chips and I made my own dressing from salsa and sour cream (lower in carbs). Other than using my taco seasoning, I don't see what's spicy about it but we enjoyed it and it was a quick, healthy, lower carb supper for the kids and I after a long day at work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
This was a wonderful salad. I followed the recipe exactly except I browned some ground beef with taco seasoning, let it cool slightly and added it to the salad. It was delicious and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
SO SO SO yummy. I made this for my boyfriend to go with enchiladas and Pina Coladas for a festive little meal and he couldn't stop raving about the salad. I added avacados in place of the beans though (I avoid beans on dates!) and it's just delicious. Also, I use bite-sized tortilla chips. It'll be in my personal recipe box for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This recipe turned out very well. I tried it for the first time at my son's birthday party and really liked it. The only thing is, the chips will get soggy after a bit, so it's really better the first hour or so with the chips crunchy. Good for feeding a large group of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States