Spicy Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
My best friend asked us over for Chili last night and I took this salad. It was a humongous hit! Everyone had at least two servings and there was very little left over despite the fact that I doubled the recipe for our party of six. I did add some black olives and an avacado to it. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2005
This recipe turned out very well. I tried it for the first time at my son's birthday party and really liked it. The only thing is, the chips will get soggy after a bit, so it's really better the first hour or so with the chips crunchy. Good for feeding a large group of people.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2004
This was a wonderful salad. I followed the recipe exactly except I browned some ground beef with taco seasoning, let it cool slightly and added it to the salad. It was delicious and my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2004
This a great salad! I took it to a luncheon we had at work and it was a big hit. It's so easy to prepare, the next time I don't feel like cooking, I'll add some chicken to make a main meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by THEWRITIN1

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2004
A neat "meatless" taco salad! Very good and so convienent and fast. Very adapable - I threw some diced avocado and some minced jalapeno in too. Will make this often this summer for a cool, easy supper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SweetBasil

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Liberty Hill, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2004
Loved this salad Taseia. We added some taco meat and used the Catalina dressing as instructed, but the spicy ranch that others have suggested sounds yummy! I might have to give that a try next time we make this. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2004
This is a great quick and easy salad! I don't put in the tortilla chips, but i've added olives and sometimes grilled chicken! yum! Also I found litehouse has a great jalapeno ranch dressing that gives it a kick (and i think its better than catalina dressing).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2004
Other than the addition of black olives I followed this recipe. I thought it looked very unappealing after mixing in the catalina dressing. I have had better tasting salads simular to this one.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2003
Hello everyone. I am so glad you like my recipe. Some people were wondering why I called it spicy, my recipe was edited by the owners of this web site and they put corn chips down instead of spicy Fritos. You can also use chili cheese Fritos in this recipe if you can't find the hot and spicy Fritos. Another option is to get black beans with jalepeno peppers added, it gives the salad an extra kick. Also, make sure to add the Fritos last, since they will get soggy if they sit in the salad too long -Taseia
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
127 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2003
Agree this isn't "spicy", but what a great salad it is! Very easy.. served at a dinner party and everyone loved it! I did add red onions.. on the side and I thought it needed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States