Spicy Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: May 11, 2006
Really awesome!! I made it into dinner by adding taco meat; I also made some additions suggested by others, such as avocado, cilantro and green onions. I used spicy ranch dressing and left out the pintos. This is an easy and delicious meal that I will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Knoxville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2006
The only thing we did not like was the Catalina dressing. It was much to sweet. We did like the salad itself. I didn't mix the dressing into the salad so that everyone could use as much as they wanted thank goodness. That saved the meal. We added sour cream and hot sauce, OR ranch dressing. We liked it much better. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
Took this one to a potluck and it went over big. Used only 1/2 bag corn chips and that seemed like more than enough. This one gets soggy fast, so don't prepare in advance. I just prepped the ingredients and then tossed when I arrived, adding the chips at the very last. A very hearty salad. Add some taco meat and it becomes a worthy main dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GULFTRADE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Moses Lake, Washington, USA
Living In: Scottsdale, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2006
Everyone seemed to love this salad! I got tons of compliments. The chips were alittle messy - my do tortilla strips next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KUL567

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rome, Lazio, Italy
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2005
This was a big hit at a mexican themed dinner with friends. I crushed some hint of lime tortilla chips (used only 1/2 the amount called for), skipped the black beans and added one can of drained mexi-corn. The Catalina gives a great flavor - thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2005
SO SO SO yummy. I made this for my boyfriend to go with enchiladas and Pina Coladas for a festive little meal and he couldn't stop raving about the salad. I added avacados in place of the beans though (I avoid beans on dates!) and it's just delicious. Also, I use bite-sized tortilla chips. It'll be in my personal recipe box for years to come.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2005
My husband had 3 bowls of this and he rarely has seconds on anything! I think next time I will try it with Mexican cheese and a more spicy/sweet dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA
Living In: Fishers, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2005
Sorry - just tasted wilty. I skipped the black beans because I was using them in another dish and thank goodness - all I could taste was the pinto beans! I did sub a mix of ranch dressing and salsa as some other reviewers did instead of the catalina, so maybe that didn't help. Also, I used less than half the recommended amount of chips and that was plenty! Unfortunately, they were wasted, as most of the salad ended up in the trash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
This was a huge hit at the cinco de mayo party!!! Thanks for the tip about using hot-n-spicy fritos! I also made a dressing by mixing 1 cup of ranch with ine cup of salsa (because I can't find any spicy ranch in my area) it was awesome! Also added some red onion, black olives, and shoepeg corn. A total delight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 26, 2005
My best friend asked us over for Chili last night and I took this salad. It was a humongous hit! Everyone had at least two servings and there was very little left over despite the fact that I doubled the recipe for our party of six. I did add some black olives and an avacado to it. Will definately make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States