Spicy Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I've been looking for a long lost Tex-Mex recipe that I used many years ago. This is so similar except that my recipe used red & green peppers and red onions but no lettuce. Also, kidney (chili beans instead of pinto or black beans. Thanks for jogging my memory. Just a note -- if you omit the lettuce and replace with the above ingredients, the salad can be made up to a day ahead of time - then just add the corn chips before serving. VERY yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Very spicy, great taste - wonderful side dish to Mexican lasagna or enchiladas. I used spicy ranch and crushed up spicy doritos and blue corn chips on top for a little color. Great presentation and my guests all raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2009
The site left out something important in this recipe...use SPICY Fritos and crumble them into your bowl and toss with the dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
Just made this for Christmas, but it wasn't a big hit. It was very easy to make, and it was good, although not in my taste so much. I didn't get too many opinions on this dish so I'm assuming the family wasn't terribly impressed with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica
Home Town: Bend, Oregon, USA
Living In: Redmond, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2008
Offered this for a business meeting dinner. It was devoured. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2008
Great salad with a few additions. To zip it up a bit, I mixed the catalina with equal parts sour cream, a heaping teaspoon of taco seasoning and thinned it with lime. To the salad I added red onion (1/2 cup) and cilantro (a good handful). There was nary a leaf of romaine left in the bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
This recipe was great! Easy too and I received the complements. Fat Free dressing and low fat cheese made for a healthier option. The beans don't make the salad soggy like a traditional "taco salad"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2008
This is one of my favorite "I don't have time to cook" meals. It is so easy to throw together espcially on those busy weekdays. We use ranch beans and what ever lettuce I have on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Denton, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
Good stuff - overall very popular at my birthday party. It's a nice side to serving tacos. I also stuck to ranch since that's a dressing I know we love.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2008
I made this recipe when having friends over for dinner for chicken enchiladas. It was fabulous! It makes a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 77) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chiles.

Spicy Rice Noodle Salad

See how to make a simple, spicy and delicious rice noodle salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States