Spicy Mexican Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2011
I followed the recipe using Chili Cheese Fritos and thought the salad was great. Several people commented that they enjoyed it. I'd definitely consider making it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheri S.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Novato, California, USA
Living In: Beaverton, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Wow! EVERYONE in my family of 5 liked this recipe. The only suggestion from a teen was to use a little less Fritos and to crush them. I made homeade Catalina dressing from this website that was fabulous. Great combo of salty and sweet.....who doesn't love that?!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2010
This was really good and easy. I added ground turkey (cooked w/ taco seasoning), green onion, jalapenos, corn, and dark red kidney beans instead of pinto beans. I only made these changes to use up some stuff I had. I didnt have catalina so instead I made a dressing I found on here called "easy southwestern salad dressing", which consists of ranch dressing and BBQ sauce. It turned out great. Next time I will make sure I have catalina because that is my favorite dressing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Audrey

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2010
Yummy salad! I have seen other people do this but never had a recipe. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Orchard

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2010
I doubled this recipe for a work potluck lunch and received RAVE reviews. I used Chili Cheese Fritos so the salad actually wasn't spicy at all. It was still very good. I had several requests for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LYNNB826

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbia, South Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2009
I love this recipe! I love that you can add your favorites like olives, onions, tomatoes, etc... and it still tastes great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2009
Very tasty and filling. I did use reduced fat cheese and light dressing to cut the fat and calories. Also, I served the crushed chips on the side, so the leftovers wouldn't be soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by erz2002

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dover, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Dillsburg, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2009
This salad is quick to put together, contains a dose of protein, and has great texture with the corn chips. I will definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2009
I've been looking for a long lost Tex-Mex recipe that I used many years ago. This is so similar except that my recipe used red & green peppers and red onions but no lettuce. Also, kidney (chili beans instead of pinto or black beans. Thanks for jogging my memory. Just a note -- if you omit the lettuce and replace with the above ingredients, the salad can be made up to a day ahead of time - then just add the corn chips before serving. VERY yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2009
Very spicy, great taste - wonderful side dish to Mexican lasagna or enchiladas. I used spicy ranch and crushed up spicy doritos and blue corn chips on top for a little color. Great presentation and my guests all raved over it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Mexican Bean Salad

A perfect potluck partner. Three beans, corn, peppers, and plenty of kick.

Sweet and Spicy Jicama Salad

A crisp, colorful salad that brings a little heat with Thai and jalapeno chilies.

How to Make Spicy Corn Salad

Corn, sweet onions, and jalapenos combine into a spicy summer salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States